We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hall of Presidents & First Ladies

Hall of Presidents & First Ladies
789 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA
(717) 334-5717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 30 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: History Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring The area's only complete wax collection of American Presidents and their first ladies as well as a beautiful gift shop. The Hall of Presidents is located across the street from the Gettysburg Tour Center and next to the main entrance of the National Cemetery. It is incredible to be able to see what our Presidents really looked like and to hear the words attributed to them as if the words came from the very lips of the figures themselves.The Hall of First Ladies present authentic 1/3 size reproductions of the First Ladies in their inaugural gowns.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Half worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The President part of this museum was great. Life sized likenesses of each president and they all "spoke" about their time in office. Going from that into the First Ladies part of the exhibit was disappointing. The first ladies were only dolls....maybe 3' tall and dressed in their inaugural gowns. The only descriptions given of these great women was the description of their dresses....nothing about their great contributions. Too bad...they could have done so much more with this part.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    22
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nv4i73
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It is reasonable priced and I thought it was interesting but have heard most of what was presented before. You go from room to room and each wax figure of a president speaks and tells you a little about himself and his term in office. At the end you can view and your leisure the first lady dolls dressed in the period outfits.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Nice Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I took the Hall of Presidents and First Ladies tour while visiting Gettysburg, It is a wax collection of all the Presidents and a wax collection 1/3 size reproduction of all the First Ladies in their inaugural gowns. The tour begins with the Presidents. You enter a room where wax figures of the first 5 or 6 presidents tell their story of their administration. There are chairs for sitting while the presentation is going on. You advance to the next room for the next set of presidents and so on. It is a very informative presentation. Afterwards you enter another room to view the First Ladies. Nicely done.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Another hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I really think this is an interesting place to visit, as I've always wanted to learn more about the first ladies. The staff as very friendly. Though I wish they had presidential and first ladies postcards in the gift shop as I would have bought 'em up, I did find some great souvenir treasures that will help me with homeschooling. Great place to take kids who study American history!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“why”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

You can try to pick a different seat, but no matter where you sit a president will always be staring at you with a menacing glower.

All that was missing was red bulbs behind their eyes.

Scarred. For. Life.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hall of Presidents & First Ladies also viewed

 

Been to Hall of Presidents & First Ladies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hall of Presidents & First Ladies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.