We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub atmosphere, good food for casual eating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Eddie's

Gettysburg Eddie's
217 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2801
717-334-1100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pub atmosphere, good food for casual eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had this restaurant recommended to us as one where the locals ate. It is basically a pub with TV's all around showing baseball games. Our Mexican salads were delicious. Of course a noisy place but one where a gang of friends could go and eat, drink and be merry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    197
    72
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The service is really poor - they jam you in and don't seem to have enough waiters. The food is very average - We always rate the food by asking each other "Would you get it again?" Both of us answered "no". Not worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gettysburg Eddie's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Formerly known as The Gingerbread-man GE's features a decor based around the history of baseball from the area. They serve great burgers and full meals. Many of the young business types from the area frequent the back bar for after work specials. On street parking or in the rear.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Pub Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pub food was good. Atmosphere was average. Service was good. Area it is in is a bit touristy - near all of the ghost tours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We actually ate at this restaurant 2 times in the 3 days we were in Gettysburg. The atmosphere is great. L I loved the building and the decor. The food was good and the service was great. On our second trip there, they were seriously understaffed (even though it was memorial day weekend and the 150th anniversary). I was surprised that they weren't prepared for lots of guests. The staff was very helpful and accommodating for us. The wait was a bit long but the place is so nice to relax, we didn't really mind. The club was good, the waffle fries are great and the salads are HUGE. Price was not too bad, about $12 for a sandwich and fries.

It is on our favorites list...we'll be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Eddie's also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Eddie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Eddie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.