We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Gettysburg to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Picked this hotel based upon its location on the map, close to the Military Park. It is so much more than a great location. Room was clean and well appointed. Wew stayed in a King-sized room with a sofa. Pool looked great, but we didn't have time to use it. Bathroom was clean; I did NOT notice low water pressure in the shower.
Breakfast was much more than expected. Eggs, sausage and waffles...great coffee and blueberry muffins.
Staff was very helpful. Gave us directions and suggestions for dining out in town, which is right down the road. Pike restaurant is right next door...we had lunch there.
The hotel is literally less than 1 minute from the Military Park visitor center parking lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks you so much for the high praises! We are in a perfect location, being the closest hotel to the National Military Park Visitor Center, National Cemetery and just minutes from any of the great restaurants, shops and additional museums and attractions. I hope you had time to enjoy one of the evening Ghost tours too! All of our terrific staff take great pride in their work and it shows in our knowledgeable and friendly front desk as well as the cleanliness of the rooms. Our complimentary breakfast, with it's large selection and 24 hour free coffee is a great way to start the day. Next time you will have to find time at the end of the day to unwind in our indoor pool!
We look forward to your next visit!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    260
    70
    17
    10
See reviews for
432
303
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A clean, well kept hotel near everything. It's right between the Getttysburg National Military Park Visitor's Center and Downtown Gettysburg. Perfect location, a 1 minute walk to the Soldier's National Cemetery, where many Union soldiers are buried and the site of Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address. In fact, the hotel butts up against Evergreen Cemetery, which predates the battle by 9 years. Rooms at the rear of the hotel face the tranquil and beautiful cemetery.
Very clean and well maintained facility, with a microwave and medium sized refrigerator in each room. Our room also had a safe which was convenient. The HDTV only had SD cable channels, and the shower had low water pressure, but those are the only minor issues. The hotel staff was helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a cemetery view room, if you want a view of Evergreen Cemetery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Alan,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience in our hotel! We agree, the location between town and the National Visitor Center is ideal! We love having the location of Lincoln's famous speech just minutes from our door and since you can't drive in the National Cemetery (walking only) it's great to be able to leave your car conveniently parked at the hotel!
I didn't realize Evergreen Cemetery pre-dated the National Cemetery, so thanks for that trivia!
The view, as you mentioned, is lovely and very peaceful.
I'm glad you found the staff friendly and our rooms and entire hotel clean and well kept. A great staff is a huge asset and we appreciate the job they do so well!
It will our pleasure to have you back again!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in October 2011 and returned to stay September, 2013. Well kept, comfortable hotel. Staff is very helpful and courteous. Breakfast room was always kept neat and clean and the food selection met our needs each morning. Convenient to Gettysburg National Park Visitor Center and a short walk to the downtown area (Jenny Wade House, Farnsworth House, etc.) We look forward to a return stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to have you back with us again! A great staff, both at our front desk and in housekeeping/maintenance is key to keeping our guests happy and returning over and over.
Our location is prime, situated between the new National Visitor center and the National Cemetery with a short walk to the other local museums and restaurants. Don't forget the Freedom Transit also provides a free shuttle to area attractions and the Gettysburg Outlet shops complete with an 8 movie theater!
Our complimentary hot and continental breakfast gives your day a great start and we always have early morning grab and go bags if you are rising and leaving exceptionally early.
Again, thank you for sharing your experience and please come back and see us again!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curtice
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel is clean and comfortable. Suites have nice open floor plan with plenty of mirrors and outlets. Air conditioner worked fine and has a constant fan which is a nice "white-noise", Fridge is large with a freezer. Water pressure in the shower is very low. Room was clean but I wish hotels would stop using the big bulky and questionably clean comforters on the beds.
The hotel was quiet and we ate dinner at the Pike restaurant which was very nice.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ella,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed the open space of our extra large guest rooms. Full length mirrors and more outlets thank you need (including our power port station!) are just a few of our standard features! As you pointed out all of the rooms are equipped with roomy refrigerators (including a freezer!) and microwave ovens.
Stay tuned as we upgrade our bedding to the "naked bed" (no comforters) in the upcoming months!
We look forward to having you with us on your next visit!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Comforts Suites was less than a mile from the entrance to the Visitors Center. Couldn't ask for a better spot. Very easy to find. Breakfast was OK but hey, it was free! I would stay there again for sure. Also, the person checking us in gave us a good recommendation for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Michael,
Thanks for taking time to share information on our great location with your fellow travelers! Being the closest hotel to the National Military Park Visitor Center does make us a convenient choice! Our complimentary breakfast with its many choices (cereal, eggs, waffles, sausage, yogurt, pastries, fruit etc is a great way to start your day!
We look forward to having you again on your next trip to our famous little town!
Sincerely,
The Staff at the Comfort Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Michelle is a very pleasant and patient young lady who assisted me and my wife during our
stay at comfort Suites while visiting the Civil War battle sights at Gettysburg. She offered
suggestions as to how we would get the maximum benefit of the three days we were going
to be visiting the hisitoric area. Thank you Michelle,you were very helpful to us.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Robert,

I will be sure to share your kind comments with Michelle! She, along with all of our great front desk personnel, love to share their knowledge of the area their opinions on the wonderful restaurants! We are glad you enjoyed all that Gettysburg has to offer and look forward to serving you again on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a clean and very conveniently located hotel. You will be a half mile from the Visitor Center and about the same from Down town. Breakfast was decent with some hot choices of omelets (pre-made with cheese), sausage waffles and then some fruit options and yogurt along with plenty of pastry options. The fitness center is OK they have a treadmill, elliptical and bike all of home gym quality and although they have free weights they didn't have a proper bench for working out and the pool was cloudy (probably a chemical imbalance as I saw the filter running). Yes that is it that's the worst of it LOL..... really I would stay here again for sure. Oh and the staff you couldn't ask for nicer!!

Room Tip: For those who like creepy ask for a room over looking Evergreen Cemetery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Christie,
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to make such kind comments! A great front desk staff is so important and I will share you compliments with ours!
I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our fitness room during your stay. We have struggled a bit with cloudy pool water and after consulting with several professionals, we have found that the high iron content in the water sometimes reacts with the bromine used, however this never affects the effectiveness of the sanitation process!
Our breakfast selections do offer a variety, with something to appeal to everyone and our close proximity to town and the Visitor Center (probably the single most "must see" in the area) makes us the perfect location for individuals or groups!
We invite you come back again!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.