We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Comforts Suites was less than a mile from the entrance to the Visitors Center. Couldn't ask for a better spot. Very easy to find. Breakfast was OK but hey, it was free! I would stay there again for sure. Also, the person checking us in gave us a good recommendation for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Michael,
Thanks for taking time to share information on our great location with your fellow travelers! Being the closest hotel to the National Military Park Visitor Center does make us a convenient choice! Our complimentary breakfast with its many choices (cereal, eggs, waffles, sausage, yogurt, pastries, fruit etc is a great way to start your day!
We look forward to having you again on your next trip to our famous little town!
Sincerely,
The Staff at the Comfort Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    196
    53
    13
    8
See reviews for
316
221
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo,New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Michelle is a very pleasant and patient young lady who assisted me and my wife during our
stay at comfort Suites while visiting the Civil War battle sights at Gettysburg. She offered
suggestions as to how we would get the maximum benefit of the three days we were going
to be visiting the hisitoric area. Thank you Michelle,you were very helpful to us.

Room Tip: Top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Robert,

I will be sure to share your kind comments with Michelle! She, along with all of our great front desk personnel, love to share their knowledge of the area their opinions on the wonderful restaurants! We are glad you enjoyed all that Gettysburg has to offer and look forward to serving you again on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a clean and very conveniently located hotel. You will be a half mile from the Visitor Center and about the same from Down town. Breakfast was decent with some hot choices of omelets (pre-made with cheese), sausage waffles and then some fruit options and yogurt along with plenty of pastry options. The fitness center is OK they have a treadmill, elliptical and bike all of home gym quality and although they have free weights they didn't have a proper bench for working out and the pool was cloudy (probably a chemical imbalance as I saw the filter running). Yes that is it that's the worst of it LOL..... really I would stay here again for sure. Oh and the staff you couldn't ask for nicer!!

Room Tip: For those who like creepy ask for a room over looking Evergreen Cemetery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Christie,
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to make such kind comments! A great front desk staff is so important and I will share you compliments with ours!
I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our fitness room during your stay. We have struggled a bit with cloudy pool water and after consulting with several professionals, we have found that the high iron content in the water sometimes reacts with the bromine used, however this never affects the effectiveness of the sanitation process!
Our breakfast selections do offer a variety, with something to appeal to everyone and our close proximity to town and the Visitor Center (probably the single most "must see" in the area) makes us the perfect location for individuals or groups!
We invite you come back again!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysburg PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Comfort Suites in Gettysburg and have loved it. This time was no different although we did have an issue with the cooling unit. It was loud when the compressor came on so we called the Front Office and they had us in another room within minutes. Very courteous and helpful. We ate at The Pike which is on the other side of the parking lot and enjoyed our stay very much. I would definitely recommend the Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
I LOVE your contributor name! Very Clever! Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We certainly appreciate your kind comments about the responsiveness of our terrific front desk staff. We are glad you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions and look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we enjoyed are stay. The rooom we had was very large room & easily a. It was comfortable for all travelers. Great breakfast- lots to choose from to get your day started. Very clean & neat. 24 hr coffee!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay! Our housekeepers take great pride in providing a super clean, comfortable room for every guest. I will share your kudos with them.
Our breakfast selection does provide something for everyone with yogurt and fruit, muffins and danish, cereals, eggs, sausage and every ones favorite-Make-your-own Waffles! Our 24 hour coffee and tea is a big hit with most guest especially as we approach the fall and winter!
Please stay with us again when you are in the area!
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were next to the cemetery. It was walking distance from the motel to many of the main attractions.we could see some of the battle fields from the parking area. There was a very nice resteraunt next to the motel.

Room Tip: First floor was very convenient to all the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Vicky,
Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit to Gettysburg and taking time to write on Trip Advisor. The Comfort Suites is very convenient to town and as you mentioned, right next to the National Cemetery. Our most requested rooms are those that face the cemetery, for the quiet, the scenery and even for the curious ghost hunters!

Please visit with us again when you return to the area!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my first time writing a review, but I thought it was important for future visitors to know how convenient this hotel was. This was our first trip to Gettysburg, a family of four. It was Labor Day weekend and relatively crowded. The hotel is right between town and the Visitor Center. I disagreed with the front staff, as we were unable to walk to the visitor center. There were no sidewalks either there or into town. But fortunately it's a quick drive and parking isn't too bad, even for a holiday weekend.
My boys like lots of room and we always look for a suite hotel. A good night's rest always makes the next day better. We got the suite that could hold seven people for our little family of four, but well worth it. Lots of space, a little snug if seven were there, I would say at most five. It would have been nice if the bathroom was in the king size bed room so we wouldn't wake our kids when we were up at night, but we made do.
Nice, clean hotel. Pool was small but a nice diversion at the end of the day.
Breakfast was perfect to get you going. Try not to go right at closing time, as it gets much busier.
Would definitely stay there again. So glad it worked out.

Room Tip: Nice cemetery view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Kim,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write a review. We appreciate the kind comments! Being the closest hotel to the National Visitor Center is a great perk for us. Maybe we can all lobby for a sidewalk between town and the visitor center! I'm sure that would be a wonderful addition to our town! Generally though, it is very easy to drive and park at any of the Gettysburg attractions and restaurants and even our downtown area has street parking or a convenient garage.

Our 2 bedroom family suite is a great room for larger families or those, like yourself, who just want to spread out a bit. The in room microwaves and refrigerators make it easy to keep snacks and cold drinks on hand too,

We are glad you chose us for your stay and look forward to having you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Gettysburg

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg Hotel
Address: 945 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Gettysburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gettysburg newest hotel. Closest hotel to the National Park Visitor Center and next to National cemetery. Hotel guest enjoys complimentary hot deluxe continental breakfast consisting egg and meat. Wireless Wi Fi throughout the building. Spacious test-fully furnished accommodations and great professional staff to please every guest.Beautiful Lincoln Ballroom seats up-to 200 is ideal for meetings, seminars, weddings,receptions, reunions or any family events. Large spacious parking area can accommodate tour buses very comfortably., ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.