We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolling through Gettysburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tours

Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tours
778 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA
717-334-6296
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$26*
and up
Ranked #13 of 43 Activities in Gettysburg
Attraction details
North Platte, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rolling through Gettysburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We enjoyed the bus tour through Gettysburg and all of the additional insights learned from Jim, our fantastic guide. It gives a great overview of the 3 days of battle, where they happened, and the general circumstances. Be aware that the bus only stops at 3-4 places, so you may also want to tour by car after the bus tour.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    40
    11
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stratford
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Another excellent presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a must do on a visit to Gettysburg. It gives you a good overview of the battlefield and time and places of that particular civil war battle.
The guides are well informed and make the tour interesting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Knowledgable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

What made this tour even better was the young woman ("not the youngest now") who was our tour guide. She knew every bit of history and beyond to bring each stop to life. It is good to know that future generations are doing their best to keep history alive.
Our bus driver was also very nice and courteous.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try to catch a tour with Gar Phillips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Licensed NPS tour guide, Gar Phillips has so much knowledge about the battlefields. He makes sure that everyone can hear and see at the stops and explains some of the tactics behind the moves of the armies. The battlefields were over-run with school groups and unlicensed guides.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Memorable Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We did the open air double decker bus on Memorial Day. The guide was very knowledgable regarding the battle. He made us think about the battle in new ways. Liked the head phones on the top of the bus. Did have only one stop. For us, this was just a preview tour. It showed us an overview, so we would be able to get favorites. We will go back to some of these favorites at another time. You can't see everything at the battlefield in two hours. Would recommend it

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tours also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Battlefield Bus Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.