We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of David Wills House

David Wills House
8 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
866-486-5735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 62 things to do in Gettysburg
Attraction details
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The National Park Service did a bang-up job of restoring this house. For many years, one could only visit an upstairs room (the "Lincoln bedroom") over a Rea and Derrick drug store. Now, the whole place is back to looking like as 19 cen building, and the displays are outstanding.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    45
    28
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pomeroy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I really enjoyed my recent visit to the David Wills house. I found it very interesting and informative. The house still has several original pieces dating back to when President Lincoln would have been there. For instance, the bed Lincoln slept in with original bed spread. I felt it was definitely felt it was worth the 6.50 I paid. I'm just glad they have taken this beautiful building and restored it. I would rather see them make a small museum out of it than it setting there empty and unkempt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Interesting slice of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

David Wills House offers another side of Gettysburg including the room where Lincoln slept when he visited to give his Gettysburg Address. The house also focuses on the lawyer David Wills who led the establishment of the national cemetery and was involved in the restoration of the town after the battle. Interesting and worth going through. It isn't a large museum and doesn't take a significant amount of time.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The David Wills house was a big disappointment to me. There were really only two rooms with house stuff in them. They had artificts but not a whole lot. It was only two stories which I thought you could go through all three. The only neat part was the Lincoln bedroom. Save your money. Its not worth it.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not what I hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I hoped to see a the period home of a wealth lawyer. However it's a period three story building with two period rooms. Otherwise it is a modern museum, glass tablets, video screens and a few artifacts in cases. Has some good information much of it will be a repaet of that at the visitors center.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Wills House also viewed

 

Been to David Wills House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Wills House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.