We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real food, good choices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Saint-Amand

Cafe Saint-Amand
48 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2305
717-334-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
cinpackback@yahoo.com
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Real food, good choices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Gettysburg has more than it's share of tourist "diner" eating establishments. This downtown restaurant offers "out of the way" choices in food & ambience. Our party of 4 enjoyed fillets and scallops. The french apple pie, with a shortbread crust, was amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    158
    50
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic French Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped for lunch. I had the Salad Nicoise which was very fresh and delicious. My husband had the turkey, which was also good. Who can to a french restaurant without sampling a pastry or dessert? Our choice that day was the lemon tart baked with a shortbread crust - excellent!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Modest eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This presents itself as a French cafe. it is not. It is a modest place, In a town that is overflowing with chain, budget places (MacDonalds, Wendys, Ruby Tuesday, Perkins, etc.), there comes a point when you say "I must eat real food prepared for me by a person physically onsite." Cafe St, Amand does. But, not much more. The servers are polite and pleasant but they are not professionals. We came and were seated, and ordered. It took nearly 15 minutes before our server came back to tell us that they were out of the crab cakes we had ordered as an appetizer. We said we'd go to the main course. Another 10 minutes and some bread appeared. Another 10 mintues (35 minutes since we entered) and no food -- we called over a server as no one had seemed to notice that we had been sitting there for 35 minutes with no food. The server went to the kitchen but did not return immediately. However soon we were told it would be there within five minutes. That was accurate (and should have been since it takes about 10 minutes to cook a breaded chicken cutlet). Finally 45 minutes after entering we got some food. It was not crowded (it was after the rush on a Friday evening). I can only say that one should have modest expectations of what this modest place can deliver.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a french dip and another very interesting sandwich with an sunny side egg on top (can't remember the name). Both very good, the french dip was a little underwhelming for a French restaurant, but the other was delicious. The fries were very good and the coffee was some of the better coffee we found in Gettysburg.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast Was Tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

September 22, 2013 -We had a party of about 14 and were split into two round tables which was fine. Each table had a different server. The other table were eating their breakfast while our table was still waiting. I ordered the Croque-Madame a traditional Croque-Monsieur with ham and melted gruyére cheese on French rustic loaf accented with Dijon mustard baked to a golden brown, topped with a fried egg. I did not taste the Dijon Mustard and there was a cheese sauce poured over the sandwich, I was looking forward to picking it up and eating the sandwich and I did try although a bit messy with all the sauce poured over it - menu should state the sauce, but it does not. Usually this sandwich comes with a Raspberry Sauce, at other restaurants, and so I asked for some. The server stated they did not have Raspberry Sauce, Jam, Jelly, etc. - I asked for Strawberry - great she will bring it right out - only it never showed up. The side of potatoes that came with it looked and tasted like the potatoes that are in the cans (pre-sliced) also they were cold - very cold. I mentioned to husband that it could be our meals waited a bit until the entire table of meals was ready to come out. On a good note, I did receive two eggs vs. the one mentioned on menu.

Husband ordered the Jambon et Fromage Crêpe (Ham and cheese crêpe) Thinly sliced ham and melted cheddar cheese in a warm crêpe, served with seasonal fresh fruit - his breakfast was chopped ham instead of thinly sliced but there was plenty of it - every bite was loaded with ham. He mentioned it was tasty but not exceptional. We also ordered a Spinach Crepe to take out for a friend who could not attend the breakfast - after he ate his (although it was no longer hot) he also stated that it was just okay - he said it was average.

Our server at our table seemed very young and a bit timid,unsure - maybe it was her first day or week but she was friendly and nice to us. The atmosphere is also lovely. We would go back and try this restaurant again, maybe lunch or dinner next time - but again, although it was good and tasty it wasn't exceptional.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Saint-Amand also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Saint-Amand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Saint-Amand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.