We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Saint-Amand

Cafe Saint-Amand
48 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2305
717-334-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 115 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This litlle place in "downtown" Gettysburg was lovely. My daughter and I had a wonderful meal at a very a good price. I had a steak prepared bistro style that was delicious. The ambiance is nothing fancy but the service was very good. Yes, they don't serve wine, but if you know that going in you won't miss it because you will be enjoying your meal! Note - portions are generous: if you're a light eater you might want to split an entree.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    172
    51
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Good Croque Madame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I had breakfast at the cafe while visiting Gettysburg. We arrived at around 9:00 am and although busy, there were some tables available. By the time we left there were people waiting. We both decided to have the Croque-Madame, the traditional Croque-Monsieur with ham and gruyére cheese on French bread with Dijon, baked and topped with a fried egg. In the meantime, we settled in and had some of their wonderful coffee. When our breakfast arrived, we were shocked at the huge portions. The Croque Madame was very good, but we could have easily shared one. I could only eat about 1/4 of mine and my husband ate a little over 1/2 of his. We also saw omelets being served and they were huge as well. So, take note, unless you are a big eater, you may want to split. We did see one man eat a whole Croque Madame topped with 3 eggs and a side of croissant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very French!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed lunch at the cafe. The music, the decor, the menu, and the posters were very francophil. Service was good as well as the food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited Café Saint-Amand in the early evening on a Wednesday and were the only people in the restaurant. We were disappointed to find they did not serve alcohol, but instead you can bring your own into the restaurant. If wine, they will uncork it for you and service. Had we known this we would have brought a bottle with us. Ah well, live and learn. (This was a new trend for us, being from the Midwest, we had never encountered this before.)

We ordered the warm brie cheese (very good), the quiche du jour and chicken cordon blue. The meal was delicious. There was another party that came in when we were just about finished, so maybe the evening was just getting started for others. Overall, a very pleasant and delicious dining experience.

It did seem there were a lot of staff on duty (the chef, hostess, and 3 waitresses) and they didn't have much to do. Maybe they were waiting for the crowd to come in, but could have been a bit more discrete with their conversation (not within earshot of customers).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paris in PA???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Drove by this little place in the afternoon and decided to try it for breakfast the next morning. We were the first customers to arrive after it opened, and sat at a table in the front window. A little french music in the background, the Eiffel Tower painted on the wall, and some decidedly non-traditional menu choices (Brioche French Toast and the French version of Eggs Benedict whose exact name I can't remember) and the mood was complete. The food was good, the prices were fair, and I think we would try it again if returning to Gettysburg. It's a nice change from the typical fair in what is considered a tourist town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Saint-Amand also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Saint-Amand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Saint-Amand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.