We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for more than Pub food and a quiet dinner with class for a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Saint-Amand

Cafe Saint-Amand
48 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2305
717-334-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Looking for more than Pub food and a quiet dinner with class for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The choices for dinner in Gettysburg seem to be split between pub food (read this as burgers and lots of noise) and high end (read this as high price, small portions) places. Cafe Saint Amand provides a third choice. A nice, quiet atmosphere with very good food for reasonable prices and portions. Our group had four different dinner selections: steak au poivre, grilled lemon-thyme salmon, trout amandine and mustard crusted pork chops and we shared a warm brie cheese starter. All of the meals were very good to excellent. Our server was friendly and attentive. As with many servers today, she would benefit from a little training about the proper way to serve and clear a table but this is a small point in relation to the rest of the experience. We visited on a Thursday evening about 6:00 PM and the restaurant was about 50% occupied. The tables are nicely spaced so even if all the tables were occupied, you would not feel crowded. Dinner conversation is quite easy and enjoyable due to the low noise level and the distance between the tables. There is soft background music that adds a nice touch and contributes to the feeling of fine dining. And the final piece is that the prices are very reasonable. Most of the dinner entrees are less than $20 with some of the steak dinners being less than $25. Cafe Saint Amand is an oasis in a desert of Pubs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    158
    50
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazingly wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a small business dinner party for 40 and everything from the appetizers to dessert was perfect! The staff was so accommodating and attentive, I couldn't have asked for anything more...they opened the restaurant on a Sunday evening (when they are usually closed) just for our private party.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trip Advisor...overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Two couples out to have a basically good meal. Not expecting much. OK....the name of the restaurant is a misnomer....This restaurant has nothing to do with France other than the name of the restaurant. Our server was well-intentioned, but she had no idea about the food on the menu. The ambience does not support the cost of the entrees. The menu could be from any diner or small restaurant in any burg anywhere. It's a mismash of calamari, fettucini, caesar salad, beef etc. I ordered French onion soup which was good...my caesaer salad was poor considering the warm lettuce. The calamari was good, but not much of it. My husband, and the husband and another person in the foursome, ordered the recommended panko coated flounder....one word to describe the flour based gloppy sauce....thick! Carrots and parsnips with this white pasty sauce, on a white plate....think about it. The best thing is that you can bring your own wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH MYRTLE BEACH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Confederate Battlefield Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our food order took longer than necessary and was served cold. The peanut butter/chocolate cake was delicious.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Not your typical French restaurant! Casual but delicious about sums it up. I had a salade nicoise with tuna; the tuna steak was cooked to my request (medium rare) and had no gristle, the amount of dressing was just right, and it came in an excellent portion size that left just enough room to share a slice of moist, fresh carrot cake with my husband. The price was great, too.

The service was pleasant and attentive. The restaurant was quite busy and everything was made to order, which made the food delivery a bit slow, but it was worth the wait.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Saint-Amand also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Saint-Amand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Saint-Amand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.