We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR TRIP TO THE BATTLEGROUNDS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg National Military Park

Gettysburg National Military Park
1195 Baltimore Pike (Route 97), Gettysburg, PA 17325-2804
717-334-1124
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 37 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Battlefields, Historic Sites, National Parks, Monuments/ Statues, Cemeteries, Tourist/ Visitor Centers
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Site of one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War.
Caddo Mills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OUR TRIP TO THE BATTLEGROUNDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This being the 150th year of Gettysburg Battle is appealing enough to go there and see and hear all the information there, the visitor's center, the drive through the battlegrounds, the bus tours, the private tours given by very learned volunteers, the walks through the hundreds of monuments, the historic town kept to the vintage tradition, all the volunteers throughout, food and souvenirs. Sights, sounds and scenery is enough to compel anyone to come to Gettysburg Pa. for a wonderful vacation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,744
    292
    40
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“History is my hobby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been to Gettysburg Battlefield many times, and expect to go many more. However, if you are not a history buff, it probably only rates a 3, although is does provides some lovely vistas.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Such an awe inspiring place. So hard to believe so many men fought so hard for their convictions. It truly is an incredible lesson for the next generation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE COD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“HISTORY AT ITS BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent place to visit and to learn. I think the NPS does an excellent job with maintaining these Battlefields.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Air Con Tour Bus with Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Well worth doing and our tour guide made things so interesting and was so knowledgable. We stopped at significant places during the tour and got off the bus where our guide gave a talk on that specific area. My husband loved this tour as he has an interest in the American Civil War and I have to say that I found it very interesting too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg National Military Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.