We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History is my hobby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg National Military Park

Gettysburg National Military Park
1195 Baltimore Pike (Route 97), Gettysburg, PA 17325-2804
717-334-1124
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$99*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #1 of 65 things to do in Gettysburg
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History is my hobby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been to Gettysburg Battlefield many times, and expect to go many more. However, if you are not a history buff, it probably only rates a 3, although is does provides some lovely vistas.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,530
    371
    49
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Such an awe inspiring place. So hard to believe so many men fought so hard for their convictions. It truly is an incredible lesson for the next generation.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE COD
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HISTORY AT ITS BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent place to visit and to learn. I think the NPS does an excellent job with maintaining these Battlefields.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Air Con Tour Bus with Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Well worth doing and our tour guide made things so interesting and was so knowledgable. We stopped at significant places during the tour and got off the bus where our guide gave a talk on that specific area. My husband loved this tour as he has an interest in the American Civil War and I have to say that I found it very interesting too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must visit place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Have visited the National Park a few times. Seems that they are started to charge for the museum. Sad to say that the new visitor center is not as good as the old. The old center was just about the battle while the new one covers all the war along with being a little too PC. Be sure to take water with you as you walk the field.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gettysburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg National Military Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.