We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battlefield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg National Military Park

Gettysburg National Military Park
1195 Baltimore Pike (Route 97), Gettysburg, PA 17325-2804
717-334-1124
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Gettysburg National Military Park like an insider
Top Rated
$99*
and up
Gettysburg Day Trip from Washington DC
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Gettysburg
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War.
tracys landing, md
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Battlefield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was wonderful, we took a bus tour, i only wished we had more time. The information we recieved was terrific, the guide was great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,073
    333
    47
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“park service guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

just wanted to pass along the name of kavin coneugher(pardon my spelling here but i lost my reservstion from and am trying to do this from memory) as a tour guide.
loved his enthusiasm and knowledge of the gattlefield.
have been around gettysburg for 50 years and he blew me away with his insights and view of the battle.
not sure if you can request a certain person but if so please ask for this gentleman and you will not be diappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This is a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you have never been. You should go. I have been many times with my charter groups I drive there. And still always see something differant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“History comes alive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Loved the cyclorama, although there wasn't enough time to see it all -- they hustle you out pretty quickly. Enjoyed the movie "The Birth of Freedom" -- even got a little teary-eyed listening to Morgan Freeman's narration! The museum -- which we almost missed, by the way. It's very dark looking with dark tinted windows -- and the only reason we found it was because we asked an employee if there was anything else to see at the visitor's center! He took us over to the museum and ushered us in. Too much to look at and listen to in the short period of time we had. I suggest you spend a minimum of 5 hours at the visitor's center. We could not see all that we wanted, which made us sad. And get a ranger to take you on a private tour of the military park! Oh, my gosh -- best money we spent on our trip. Hire John Smarsh -- he was outstanding! He's been at the park for 50 years and knows it ALL! Our two hour tour turned into nearly 4 hours. The park was breathtaking -- and it's heartening to learn that they are attempting to replicate what the terrain looked like in 1863 -- down to the last peach tree and wheat field. New trees were planted everywhere. We were in Gettysburg for 2 1/2 days and wished we had 4. You might want to wait until after the 150th anniversary when the crowds die down. Very busy when we were there in May.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa. st.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must visit for Americans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A visit to Gettysburg is a must for any American who reveres our history. Truly hallowed ground since it preserved our union, allowing slavery to end and shined an unending light on several of our greatest American heroes and principles.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gettysburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg National Military Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.