We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see - must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg National Military Park

Gettysburg National Military Park
1195 Baltimore Pike (Route 97), Gettysburg, PA 17325-2804
717-334-1124
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$26*
and up
Gettysburg Double Decker Guided Bus Tour
Ranked #1 of 30 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Battlefields, Cemeteries, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Tourist/ Visitor Centers, National Parks, Cultural
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must see - must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

On our visit from Europe we visited Gettysburg National Military Park and had a personal guide in our car. This was the best decision ever. Chris - our guide - was enthusiastic, dedicated, extremely knowledgeable, knew a lot of back ground story, dedicated a lot of time to our questions without minding the time. He was just perfect. So I would really advise to take this opportunity to learn much about history. The Visitor Center was excellent and we really enjoyed the movie and the Cyclorama. Go and see it is really worth wile!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,879
    310
    42
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

...as we don't usually visit such grusome sites but Gettysburg has changed our mindset! Starting with the Visitor Centre we found the Park very well organised and everyone so helpful. The Cyclorama was absolutely spectacular and provided a wonderful overview we took in our minds' eye as we toured the battle grounds. An in-car guide was well worth the few extra dollars as he made the tour 'come alive' in many respects. Well done Gettysburg National Military Park we just may need to return some day!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A step back in history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent a morning at the first class Visitor Center and an afternoon touring the battlefields. We started our day viewing the New Birth of Freedom film followed by the Battle of Gettysburg Cyclorama. Both were spectacular and well worth the time and money! We then covered all areas of the museum and enjoyed every minute. The displays and exhibits were extremely well done and provided amazing insight to the Civil War especially to those of us whom are not huge history buffs. We spent the afternoon touring the battlefields with the aid of a booklet and audio tour guide that we purchased online prior to our visit. Every stop along the way was more inspiring than the previous one. We spent the next morning at the National Cemetery which was also inspiring beyond words. The National Park Service gentleman volunteer on the grounds was very helpful and informative. I would highly recommend that every American spend some quality time at this very historic military site (Museum and Visitor Center, Battleground and Cemetery.)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Please spend the extra money (it's $24.00) to get the Nat'l Park's CD driving Tour - (not the abbreviated one). It has very easy to follow driving instruction w/numbered sites for navigating through the park. It is very thorough and has engaging historial information. It's a must-have while visting the Park!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very well maintained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Very large area that is well maintained and well marked. The work to keep/return the field to how it was in 1863 is impressive. Also glad they are being environmentally responsible while doing so. Very impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg National Military Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.