We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raphael Inn

Save Saved
You added Raphael Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raphael Inn
32 East Lincoln Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$125.00 Mid-Week Special!
Ranked #1 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We returned to the Raphael Inn to attend the Gettysburg 150th anniversary reenactment. We loved the reenactment events. They were moving and emotional. And we, once again, enjoyed our stay with Alexandra, George and their dogs at the Raphael Inn. As always, they were friendly, helpful and accommodating, even making us a goodie bag of healthy snacks to take to the very hot & humid reenactment events. They have become our friends. Our breakfasts were delicious, and the Evangeline Room was very cozy and comfortable. Being an innkeeper is a long and never-ending job, but Alexandra & George work so tirelessly to go above and beyond to provide their guests with the best of everything. I, again, highly recommend this B&B in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Each room is beautiful and thoughfully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
126
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coldspring, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay in Gettysburg partly because of the care, concern, and delight we felt while at the B & B! It is very convenient to Gettysburg sites. The hosts' dogs Heidi and Olive helped add to the ambience. Our hosts: Alexandra and George are really genuine, faith-filled people who are helpful and loving to tired travelers. Breakfast is yummy and made with care.
Great place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Earlier this summer my girlfriend and I had the pleasure to attend the annual Civil War Institute held at Gettysburg College. Our stay at the Raphael Inn was the highlight of our trip as George and Alexandra treated us as if we were their life-long friends. They were always trying to help us with whatever questions we had as far as food, directions and entertainment. The daily breakfasts were well prepared and they were constantly asking us if things were acceptable. The rooms were delightful and the atmosphere was filled with love. We especially enjoyed the the dogs, Heidi and Olive. If you are looking for a great place to stay, then the Raphael Inn is the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Our trip to Gettysburg was long-anticipated, and made that much better by our stay at the Raphael Inn. George and Alexandra made us feel at home right away. Alexandra is extremely knowledgeable about the area and made several helpful suggestions. We would not have seen Harper's Ferry without her, and we would have missed a treat! She even made a snack for us to take with us for our trip! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Lincoln Room has a little sitting area, which was a great place to visit with our friends. The breakfasts were excellent, and presented beautifully. We would definitely recommend the Raphael Inn to anyone visiting Gettysburg!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the decor of each of the rooms to the design of the meals, this B&B was well worth the money. Accommodations were comfortable and the meals were superb. Our hosts were delightful. They went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. Located a few minutes from the center of town, you have peace and quiet while having attractions, shopping, and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: My daughter and I each preferred our own bed. The California Room fit the bill and appeared to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were thrilled to book a room here at the last minute for the 4th of July weekend. While most hotels were gouging viciously on the rates for this weekend (150th anniversary of the battle), Alexandra and George kept their normal rates. They made the place special from the start, went overboard to get us settled, and then helped us get out to enjoy the events. Definitely worth staying here if you can book it! We had to leave early on the last day, and George packed a really nice breakfast to take with us. Absolutely nothing to complain about, and everything to compliment Raphael Inn for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were hesitant to stay at a bed and breakfast because of a previous experience in another state. Alexandra and George made us feel right at home from the time we arrived until the day we left! They were so easy to talk to that we felt like we were staying with family! The place was very inviting and clean and the food was delicious! They gave us lots of info about local places to visit and eat. They even made us a cake, card and sang to us for our anniversary. We have and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone visiting Gettysburg!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raphael Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn

Address: 32 East Lincoln Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Raphael Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raphael Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.