We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raphael Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Raphael Inn to your Saves list
Raphael Inn
32 East Lincoln Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Made last minute plans to attend the Remembrance Day weekend in Gettysburg. Alexandra & George were very friendly & accommodating. The B&B is very clean, beautifully decorated, quiet, within walking distance of the square & the breakfasts were delicious. Alexandra was more than willing to make my husband the basics - eggs, potatoes & breakfast meats, which he prefers, however my banana French toast, quiche & pineapple upside down treat were very delicious. It was also nice to have packaged snacks, soda pop, coffee, tea & water always available for the taking. The two dogs were adorable & well behaved. We stayed in the Lincoln Room. It was beautiful & the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
176
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland Suburbs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My mother & I stayed 2 nights at Raphael Inn in October. Alex and George greeted us warmly and gave us valuable advice on the local attractions and the best restaurants. We stayed in the Evangeline room, which was quiet and cozy, especially on the chilly Fall nights. The breakfasts were made to order: the best French toast I've ever had, fruit plates beautifully presented, and oatmeal for my mother, who has many food allergies. We also loved the neighborhood, which is quiet but only a short distance from all the attractions. The room was also extremely reasonable. A truly enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are attractively decorated, quiet, and comfortable. We stayed in the Evangeline roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Raphael Inn in October. We have stayed at many B&B's in Gettysburg and I can not say enough good things about this bed and breakfast. The hosts, Alex and George are some of the nicest people that you could ever meet. They greeted us with open arms and spent a lot of time talking with us about local attractions. They went the extra mile to make our 11th anniversary very special.

For breakfast on the first morning, they brought out banana french toast with a candle in it, a card and even sang "Happy Anniversary" for us. They also shared their lovey dogs, Heidi the Wonder Dog and Olive the Small Wonder with us. They were so delightful and made us feel at home. I happened to mention that I liked fudge when we checked in and upon return to the inn on the second night there was a plate of fudge waiting for us.

We stayed two nights in the Lincoln room which was really beautiful and had an attached room with a television, sofa and chess table. It was really nice to sit by the windows and relax after a day of touring. Alex gave us a tour of all of the rooms the night we checked and and explained that they personally restored and decorated the entire B&B. It was beautifully done and each room had their own distinct theme.

The B&B is located a few blocks from the town square. We walked to restaurants during our visit, but if you are elderly or have small children, you would need to drive.

The breakfasts in the morning consisted of dishes such as cheese omelets, sausage, homemade Boston brown bread, banana french toast and mixed fruit. They even gave us a selection of coffees to choose from so that we had what we wanted.

Alex and George truly set the standard for what it means to own a bed and breakfast. Through their caring and attention to detail, we really felt like family in their home. We look forward to visiting on our future trips to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at this Inn (Ocotber 2012); Alex and George are charming, knowledgeable and the food was excellent. For breakfast we were served fruit, omlettes, bacon and french toast- it was all yummy! The location of this B&B is a bit off the beaten path--very close to the college, but still close to all the action. We definately want to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the California Room, which was very nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of spending a weekend at the charming Raphael Inn Bed and Breakfast in historic Gettysburg, PA. Innkeepers Alexandra and George are warm and helpful, making all of their guests feel special. Breakfasts are delightful and the added touches of daily homemade sweets in the afternoon and complementary snacks and drinks available any time make your stay all the more memorable. The location is great for strolling into town for shopping or dining. Beds are comfy and inviting. You're sure to enjoy your stay at the Raphael any time of year. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My one night stay at the Raphael Inn was nothing short of a pleasure. Delightful hosts who simply could not have been more helpful; full of advice regarding the local area, but very conscious of the guests need for privacy. Property is well-positioned for easy access to town (a short walk), Gettysburg College (even closer) & the various battlefields. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our stay at the Raphael Inn was great. Most of the rooms were decorated in the period the home was built - over 100 years ago. The owners are sweet, offering suggestions for dining, shopping, and tours of Gettysburg.

Room Tip: The California Rose room had a lot of road noise if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.9 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raphael Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn

Address: 32 East Lincoln Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Raphael Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raphael Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.