We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like old friends...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raphael Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Raphael Inn to your Saves list
Raphael Inn
32 East Lincoln Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$125 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just like old friends...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just like the other folks who have reviewed this gem of a place, we have nothing but raves for George and Alexandra and their wonderful home called the Raphael Inn. The place is lovely, decorated with Alexandra's aesthetic of theme, it has three rooms devoted to a theme, and a dining room designed to be a taste of Paris.This is a place that felt like home from the moment you walked into it. And, like a good home, it comes stocked with waters and sodas and cookies and candies, along with hot water and coffee and teas, and just so much love. George and Alexandra are fascinating people who love being around us (their customers) and man, does it show. The food is wonderful, the conversation is superb, their care is impeccable and goes way beyond what is usually given to a lodger. For us, it was just like being with old friends. If you are going to Gettysburg, this is a wonderful place to relax from the sadness of the battlefield.

Room Tip: The Evangeline Room is the smallest room (although it is not very small) and very, very purple. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
150
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at a bed and breakfast to celebrate our first pregnancy. My wife had called about 6 different places but when she spoke with Alexandra there she just knew this was the place we would stay. She was so pleasant and compassionate over the phone and made you feel right at home. When we got there the house was so beautiful in small quaint neighborhood with beautiful landscapes. Her themed rooms really made the house so unique, and they were so inviting and made us feel right at home. They right away showed us the best places to eat and gave us some good info about Gettysburg. They even let us borrow their Gettysburg battle CD tour which normally cost about $40 to buy so that was huge savings!!!Each room in the house had its own charm and since no one was staying she even opened up the more expensive room for us to stay in for the cheaper price! We still decided to stay in the Lincoln room because I thought it was the best room in the house. She asked us what we wanted for breakfast and even made eggs for me even though she wasn't planning but because I had asked. We had such wonderful conversations with them and really enjoyed our stay there. We would go back again to Gettysburg not for the history but just to stay at Rafael Inn!!! They will make you feel like you are staying with family. Definitely worth it!

Room Tip: Lincoln room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our stay at the Raphael was literally a home away from home. Upon arrival, Alex and George welcome you into their home (and then you don't want to leave). Very comfortable and QUIET! We stayed in the The Evangeline Room (a.k.a. the coma room!) and loved it!!! We enjoyed sunshine shining in throughout the day, a comfortable bed, and a full bathtub to enjoy a hot soak at the end of a long day of touring. Breakfasts were AMAZING! ~delicious and hearty (not to mention how accommodating Alex was to my fussy husband). And then there are Heidi and Olive ... two of the sweetest, most well-behaved dogs. If you are a pet owner, you'll especially appreciate having these two around. Whenever we pass through again, we would definitely stay here!

Room Tip: We had a tour of the Inn when we arrived. We had the smallest room in the back of the house that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This bed and breakfast is homey, friendly, outstanding breakfasts, little extras like bottle water, pop, packaged cookies to take with you on outings.

They give suggestions for places to eat to steer you away from a bad experience.

Very comfy and inviting rooms.

Air conditioned comfort, tv, games to play and books to read.

Even a quaint screen porch to eat your breakfast or relax with a cup of coffee and watch the sun go down.

Will definitely visit again.....
thanks Alex and George.

from Gene and Judy

Room Tip: Lincoln room has it's own little tv room with a great view of the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our stay at the Raphael Inn was fantastic! The breakfasts were amazing, as were George and Alexandra; they are truly two of the sweetest people you will ever meet. They provided great recommendations on things to do and restaurants to visit in the area, and went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. The snacks were a nice touch, and made the Inn feel more like a home away from home, as did Heidi the Wonder Dog and Olive the Small Wonder. We will definitely be staying at the Raphael Inn if we visit Gettysburg again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I both needed to get away and spend some much needed time together. We chose Gettsyburg and when looking at all the reviews on where to stay, I happened upon the Raphael Inn. The reviews really sparked my interest, and since it's very hard for me to leave my babies (doggies), the fact that they had a dog won me over. Heidi and Olive their wonderdogs are sweethearts. But there is so many more reasons to stay at the Raphael. I have never felt more at home and comfortable staying anywhere else. George and Alexandra really make you feel like VIP's. Their service , attention to detail and dining, attraction recommendations are superb, along with the wonderful breakfast and afternoon treats that Alexandra cooks. George makes you feel like a "King & Queen" with his thoughtful service. The detail that was put into the suites was amazing and we stayed in the Abraham Lincoln suite which was aptly named. The room was very comfortable and was full of little surprises as my husband discovered the little candy dish in our sitting area and I found numerous books on the Civil War. You can't go wrong staying at the Raphael as Alexandra and George truly are very welcoming to all. We both loved our weekend and are already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After having a bad experience at a B&B many years ago, I was skeptical about trying one again. My husband and I were traveling with friends and chose the Rafael for it's proximity to the center of town, and many positive reviews. I knew shortly after arriving we had made the right decision. George and Alexandra are wonderful hosts, their home is very charming and the rooms are very comfortable with private baths. We were given many helpful booklets and maps of the area, restaurant suggestions which didn't disappoint, and audio CD's to tour the battlefield area. Our hosts felt much more like family, their little dogs Heidi and Olive are adorable, and I have nothing but warm feelings about our 2 night stay there. Would happily go back any time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raphael Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn

Address: 32 East Lincoln Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Raphael Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raphael Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.