We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raphael Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Raphael Inn to your Saves list
Raphael Inn
32 East Lincoln Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$125 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Berlin, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Innkeepers Alex, George and Heidi, the Wonder Dog made our trip one of the most, if not the most, memorable vacations I've ever experienced. I have drug my husband to many a bed and breakfast over the years including one that was rated one of the top 10 in the US by the Wall Street Journal [back in the '80s], but none has provided the feeling of being cared for and about as the innkeepers at the Raphael Inn did. Visiting Gettyburg left an indelible impression, but it was as much from the selfless, kindly nature of the innkeepers (including Heidi) as from the the horrors of the battle that waged on July 1st, 2nd an 3rd in 1863.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
150
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The gracious innkeepers made us feel so welcome and the service was terrific. The room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were superb!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The owners of the place make you feel so welcomed and at home! They always greet you with a smile and take the time to talk and ask about your day. They go the extra mile to help you and give lots of suggestions on places to see, and eat. The rooms are lovely and clean, and breakfast is delicious and filling. If you're a dog lover Heidi just adds to the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I came across this B&B by accident, and you can't imagine how delighted I was after being there for just 5 minutes. George and Alex, the couple running this B&B, were so warm, helpful, friendly, and welcoming. Staying at this place is like staying at your grandmother's house when she's in cookie-making, spoiling grandchildren-mode. The breakfast they prepared each morning (I was there 3 days) was on the same level as the best Parisian cuisine I've ever experienced, and the bedroom was like something out of a five star hotel. I could not give this place a higher rating: if the metrics allowed a 6th star, I'd give it. If you will be in Gettysburg overnight, take the time to find this hidden gem: you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtwood
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

This was a wonderful stay with fantastic service and happy, friendly hosts including Heidi the wonder dog. The breakfast was first rate, delicious, and beautifully presented. The conversation was warm and enjoyable. Great people, great stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

My wife & I planned a trip to Gettysburg to see the historic sites. We weren't sure what to expect of the Raphael Inn B & B, but our stay there was definitely one of the highlights of our weekend. I would highly recommend this B & B....our stay was great!

George & Alexandra, our hosts, were very down to earth and we loved our conversations we had with them. They also really knew how to prepare a fantastic breakfast....the scones & pie were perfect! Their 'Paris Cafe' was well decorated and very comfortable. If you're looking for a B & B in Gettysburg that makes you feel right at home, then this is the one.

We loved our room too (the California Rose).....it was clean, bed was comfortable, and once again, well decorated. It could not have been a better stay! My wife & I also loved Heidi "The Wonder Dog"....what a cute little dog. She didn't bark or bite....she just loved to be next to you & loved being petted.

We think this B & B has everything needed for a wonderful stay in Gettysburg. The next time we come through town, we'll definitely stay here again!

Thanks again,
Robert & Rachel
Wilmington, DE

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I spent last weekend with my daughter horsback riding and touring the battlefield at Gettysburg. The weekend was exceptional, in large part due to the warmth and hospitality of Innkeepers George and Alexandra Escalera. From picking us up at the local airport to helping make reservations at a very popular dining establishment, they could not have been more gracious. Our room was perfect and the breakfast was as good as I have had at a B&B. They treated my 10 year old daughter as if she were their own grandaughter. In fact, when my daughter called home to speak to her sister, she advised her to never stay in a hotel again because a Bed and Breakfast is "a hundred times better!" I could not have said it better myself.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raphael Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raphael Inn

Address: 32 East Lincoln Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming & a few blocks to the Lincoln Town Square the Raphael Inn offers a quiet neighborhood with free parking, complimentary breakfast, TV, private baths in each of the 3 lovely rooms. Bold and beautiful colors & creative decor in every room throughout the inn. Raphael Inns world famous 'Heidi the Wonder Dog' is here to warm and win your hearts! Enjoy your breakfast in the Paris Cafe, on our screened in 'Blue Moon' porch...or just 'sit for a spell' in the beautiful backyard gardens. Anytime is the right time for our complimentary cup of coffee,tea, waters, sodas, chocolates and more from Mama's Kitchen or enjoy yourself with an afternoon dessert if you like. We treat you as we would wish to be treated ourselves. Give us a try... Heidi the Wonder Dog will be waiting to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Raphael Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raphael Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.