We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BED AND BREAKFAST EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast
231 Hanover Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST BED AND BREAKFAST EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I booked The General Early Suite for my husband's 30th Birthday weekend. First great thing we noticed was the off street parking. We had heard parking was difficult in Gettysburg so it was quite a relief to have our own designated parking. The outside of the house was GORGEOUS! Beautiful architecture and the beautiful landscaped walkways. Love it!
We were welcomed by one of the owners Mike, who was very kind and friendly. The house is gorgeous, from the beautiful hardwood floors to huge fireplace in the dining room! Marj did an amazing job decorating for Christmas. I absolutely loved every little detail. Mike showed us our room and handed us our room key and a front/back door key. He also informed us they offer home cooked breakfast daily.
Our room had a back door leading to a fire escape. So we had the freedom to come and go whenever we wanted without having to ring a bell or bother anyone else. Our room was immaculate. We had a very large bed with large pillows and the mattress was very comfy. It felt like sleeping on a pillow. In the bedroom there was an electric fireplace to provide warmth and romantic ambiance. Attached to our room was a sitting with a coffee maker, a fridge and a small couch. Perfect for us. The bathroom was even better because it had a jetted tub.
There were 4-5 other people staying here with us and it was so quiet it seemed as if we were in the house completely alone. No noise at night, no noise when people were walking down the steps. Absolute bliss.
The dining room was fully stocked with coffee, tea, hot chocolate. Basically anything we needed to warm up after a cold nights walk through the town. The home cooked breakfast was DELICIOUS!! Mark cooks an amazing meal. We had a ham and cheese casserole, with freshly sliced pineapples and a raspberry cake, the next day was French Toast with sausage and a banana muffin. Everything was so good! Marj and Mike were very attentive and sweet. They really make you feel like you're a part of their family. After enjoying the delicious breakfast, we stumbled upon the little "shop" attached to the dining room. LOVE IT! I won't go into too much detail but if you plan on staying here don't forget to check it out.
In closing we have stayed at other b&b's and you get a lumpy mattress with runny eggs and dry biscuits. But the Staff at The Keystone Inn are genuinely good caring people. They will assist you with anything you need even allowing you to borrow an Auto Tour Cd for the Battlefield. It's the little things that make something and they go above and beyond. Thank you Mike and Marj for being such wonderful hosts and we will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern,Pa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A beautiful old historic home in Gettysburg on a quiet tree lined street. The owners do their best to make you feel at home and keep an impeccably clean inn. They were friendly but never overbearing or obtrusive. In fact the only time we saw them was at breakfast where they served a delicious home made breakfast casserole or home made pancakes with bacon and each day there was some kind of home baked sweet. There was always coffee or other beverages available. Our room was downstairs which I had some trepidation about at first due to my concerns about noise from other guests gathered in the dining room but we couldn't hear a thing from there. If I had one complaint it was that when we came back from a long day of touring the battlefield and wanted some quiet down time in our room, we had to leave it and go upstairs to the library because the owners yappy dog must have been penned up behind our bathroom and wouldn't stop barking. I was also very upset when we drove up to the property at night (Nov.8) to see not 1, but 2 Christmas trees in the windows. I get very tired of the over commercialization of Christmas and the earlier and earlier rush to it. I realized however, after we were there for a day, that one of the trees belonged to a year round Christmas shop kept on what had been a part of the porch and the other was more of an Autumn or Thanksgiving tree in the living room which I'm not quite sure of the meaning of but was pretty and less offensive than having Christmas decorations out 3 weeks before Thanksgiving. So, I got over it :0). All in all, a lovely place and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Our room was large and beautiful but I am not sure if I would endure the dog again to have it or request an upper room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed two nights, very impressed by the extensive library of historic information. Borrowed the CD tour for a great afternoon drive. Breakfasts were hearty, good food. Highly recommend this inn - the place is lovely, and the innkeepers are responsive.

Room Tip: Rooms are described very well online, the General Greene room has a great view of Culps Hill (binocu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Keystone B & B last week for 2 nights. We were warmly welcomed by the innkeeper and it was all great from then on. Our room was on the third floor , The General Green Suite and it was beautiful. The separate sitting area with a twin bed was convenient because my husband tends to snore and it gave me a refuge when needed. There is a fridge, coffee maker, and a TV there so if you need some space on vacation I can highly recommend this suite. At first I thought the street noise would be bothersome but once rush hour passed, all was peaceful and quiet.
Breakfast and coffee was delicious; prepared and served by the innkeepers. We got to sit with an author who is a regular visitor for 2 to 3 weeks twice a year. His research and knowledge of the area only enhanced our visit. That tells you how nice this place is. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunriver, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Keystone Inn. The owners are warm and welcoming, without intruding. Our room was spotless and the linens were crisp and fluffy. One of their guests was on his multiple return trip and staying 2 weeks, that's a satisfied customer. We'll return again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here. The first was 4 years ago. We opted for one of the larger rooms this visit. Both rooms we have stayed in have been pristine. The furnishings are comfortable and attractive. Breakfast is always wonderful - homemade & fresh. There are even treats in the afternoon. Coffee, tea, & water iare always available. There is a parlor plus an upstairs library for guests' use. In good weather, there is seating on the porch, plus in the backyard. It's not too far from the downtown areas and there are views of Culp's hill from the back balconies. This is now our preferred spot to stay in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potosi, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in this charming inn for three nights and found the entire place to be immaculate. The hosts were gracious and helpful in directing us to museums and restaurants. They provided an audio tour of the battlefield which was very helpful. We stayed in the General Green suite, with its separate sleeping/sitting area, which was perfect as our adult son was traveling with us. We encourage anyone staying in the inn to read the book provided in the room about the original owner. It is a touching tribute to a Godly man who made quite a difference in Gettysburg. We had a very relaxing stay and would highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting this historic town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 231 Hanover Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.