We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast
231 Hanover Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
denver
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I've been staying at the Keystone Inn for years. I go to Gettysburg to hike the battlefields, to study and to tour. Recently I've been bringing groups of men for tours and Mike and Marj continue to do a great job: this past June with 12 men for a tour. The house is beautifully kept, the breakfasts are very good and special needs and considerations aren't too much to ask of Mike and Marj. It's quiet (unlike other areas where there are B&B's) and yet very close to the town square. I stayed there in March, for 10 days in June and I'll be back in August. Can't wait. The large wrap-around porch provided an easy place to meet before the tour or at the end of the day just to hang out and talk. Afternoon cookies or brownies are the norm. Try it once and you'll come back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Take advantage of the stay 3 nights get a 4th night free special. My wife and I stayed at the Keystone last week and it was great. We stayed in the General Ewell room. Very spacious with a nice big comfy bed, microwave, and mini fridge. The breakfasts were outstanding! Nice big library with dozens of books about the Civil War to help pass the evenings away. Just a couple of blocks away from downtown on the east side. Mike also has copies of the auto tour of the battlefield to borrow and use at your leisure if you dont want to take the tour with a guide. The B&B is on a fairly busy street but noise is not an issue. Just a totally outstanding experiance. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The Keystone had georgeous flower gardens all around the home and the spotless interior was furnished with lovely antiques; everything done with elegance and excellence. We will definitely stay with these folks again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The keystone Inn B&B in Gettysburg represents what every B&B should be like. A handsome old (100 this year) home on a quiet street. Beautiful and tasteful antique furnishings. Modern updates for bath, Wi-Fi and TV. Sufficient parking. Friendly and helpful hosts -- Mike and Marj -- supportive, yet not obtrusive. And, oh yes, Mike's delicisious breakfasts!
Gettysburg is a great destination, not only for battleground history but also for a very manageable walking town with lots to do. We shall be back!
Steve from Maryland

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Convenient to downtown (only a 10 minute walk) and other attractions, an historic property celebrating its 100th anniversary (beautifully preserved and decorated) and offering all the amenities of an inn overlooking some of the most hallowed ground in the U.S. The breakfasts were filling and tasty. And although on one of the main roads through town, our street-facing room was remarkably free of the traffic noise that plagues other inns and hotels in town. Be sure to peruse the remarkable Civil War library Mike and Marj maintain. It was blustery and cold for a battlefield tour, but the plate of sweet treats (brownies one afternoon and cookies the next) ever-steaming pot of hot water and wide selection of teas and cocoas made the return to home base even more delightful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed there from 12/26/12 through the 28th.When we arrived there was several inches of snow on the ground. It was beautiful! We had a nice time. The Inn was very clean and the owners were extremely nice! The Inn was huge and very welcoming.The Inn is very close to restaurants and the outlet mall.Thank you!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to avoid any foot steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

this is a lovely victorian home owned by 2 pleasant innkeepers, mike and marjorie. they are very accomodating and try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. my only complaint was that the heating pipes were banging loudly, in my room, the first night. the solution was to turn the heat off and use the very good (and quiet) portable heater that was in the room. when that was remedied, i slept well. it's a beautiful home and delicious breakfasts are served. they are located in a quiet part of town and are not far from the battlefield. there is also a chinese restaurant nearby, which is convenient if you like chinese food. the restaurant isn't fancy, but the food was pretty good.the keystone also has good parking, in a lot behind the house. i would definitely return!

Room Tip: some of the rooms have hand held showers, which i think are a real plus! unfortunately, mine didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 231 Hanover Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.