We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lightner Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lightner Farmhouse to your Saves list
The Lightner Farmhouse
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #7 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, NY
1 review
“I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my first experience at a B&B and being that I'm under 30 years old I was a little worried but it was amazing! The inn keepers were kind and informative but they also gave you your space...I was worried it might be 'cheesy' but it wasn't at all. The room was beautiful and VERY clean and thankfully it was very quiet at night- no noise from other guests (or ghosts). The beds were so comfortable and the breakfasts every morning were top notch- they definitely don't go cheap on anything. We are already planning our next trip to this perfect destination!

Room Tip: The Cedar Room offers a private entrance that we loved having!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are so pleased that the younger crowd feels comfortable with us and our B&B. Our goal is to deliver a high quality experience at a very reasonable price. Glad that we delivered!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    25
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
51
121
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Farmhouse twice now.. both times were wonderful! The Innkeepers, Eileen and Dennis are fantastic hosts. The know the history of the area and the Farmhouse. Dennis makes a great breakfast! Eileen can tell you the best places to visit. Betty is not only their housekeeper but will take you out for some Paranormal experiences. I will definitely stay here again. Everything is clean and beautiful. It is situated just outside the town. Close enough but far enough also. If you go here, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and tastefully decorated. I have not had any problems with noise either t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston Park, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We just returned from a fantastic stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast and historic home. Eileen and Dennis are warm, friendly, gracious hosts, and are a wealth of information. The home is beautifully appointed and so inviting. We stayed in the Pine Room on the third floor which was a spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation. The breakfasts were simply delicious with a varied menu every morning. The property is lovely with sprawling acreage, some trails, a pond and flowers. The battlefield is right down the street and the attractions are all close by. I highly recommend staying at this perfect peaceful country retreat while visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Lightner Farmhouse several times, both alone, and with my wife. The owners, Dennis and Eileen never fail to go far above and beyond in making our stay immensely comfortable and relaxing. This is quite literally our home away from home.

Eileen is a history major, and knows far more about the battle of Gettysburg than anyone I have encountered. Both Dennis and Eileen have lived in Gettysburg long enough to be quite knowledgable about the area, and were helpful in suggesting additional sights, activities, and places to eat.

The location is great, only about 5 or so minutes from the battlefield.

I would not hesitate to stay at Lightner Farmhouse again, and I recommend it to friends that are traveling to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Lightner Farmhouse sits back from the road amidst acres of fields, forests and walking paths to the White Run. Nature lovers and hikers will love staying at this historic inn built in 1862. Dennis mows pathways through the fields so you can easily find your way to the creek and Eileen has prepared a map of the 15 acres of nature you can stroll during your stay. During our stay the wild phlox was in bloom throughout the area and Eileen's personal garden was bursting with color. Many times our trips into nature were made more fun by the presence of Jezebel, the farmhouse cat who is extremely friendly to all guests (she is not allowed inside so do not be bribed by her pretty eyes and friendly manner).

Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted and given a short tour and history of the inn. We knew right away that Dennis and Eileen were fun folks. We stayed in the Oak room on the second floor. This room was rumored to be haunted by Isaac Lightner (the builder of the home) but he didn't make any appearances while we were there. This room is spacious and has a wonderful shady view of the courtyard plus a view of Eileen's garden. The bathroom was roomy and also had a window looking over the courtyard.

Because we love paranormal investigations, we booked a tour with Betty Roche - the Lightner housekeeper by day and paranormal expert at night with her company Gettysburg Paranormal Society. She gave us a choice between the Sachs covered bridge or checking out the grounds of the farmhouse. We chose the Sachs bridge and were not disappointed!! Check out my full review on her company for more details of our experiences.

Both Eileen and Dennis gave us great tips on how to tour the Gettysburg battlefield. We opted for the 3-hour bus tour so we could get acquainted with the area, and then drove our car later that day to several key spots that we wanted to explore more. We only spent one day in Gettysburg and we suggest that you spend at least 3 days to take in the whole impact of what occurred in this town.

The breakfasts always started with fresh fruit followed by an egg dish OR pancakes/waffles/french toast. They also serve excellent coffee, teas and fresh juices along with pastries. You will not leave the dining room hungry! Eileen also accommodates all dietary needs/restrictions. I am a vegetarian and was extremely satisfied with my options.

We also took advantage of the warm, fresh-baked cookies Eileen provided in the afternoon. A great way to relax after a busy day.

Our next trip to Gettysburg will be much longer and we'll be staying, once again, at the Lightner.

Room Tip: Choose either the Pine Tree or Oak room to increase your chances of encountering the paranormal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My sister and a couple of friends had stayed here this past Memorial Day weekend. We drove from Chicago and were to get there around 3-4am. The owner, Eileen, was very accomadating and let us know that we can arrive at that time (seeing that is a very inconvenient time). Needless to say, we did not make it there at that time, but arrived right when breakfast was being serve. After breakfast, Eileen and Dennis showed us the house and told us bit of it's history. We had stayed in the 3rd floor suite. The suite was quaint and beautiful, what you would expect from a B&B. The place was not far from historic downtown Gettysburg so that is a plus! Our overall stay was fantastic and cannot wait to go back and stay there again! Thank You Eileen and Dennis...and Betty too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in mid-May, our first trip to Gettysburg. Lightner was such a delightful place to return to each evening blending the charm and welcomeness with the history of the area. Dennis and Eileen were great hosts and rightfully very proud of their lovely inn. After a long day on the battlefield it was interesting to come back to a place that was an active part of the history during those days of the battle. I felt we might see infantry pouring through the yard at any time. An fabulous alternative to the standard hotels. We particularly loved the location, a bit away from the bustle of the downtown area, yet minutes to the battlefield and anything we needed. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,697 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lightner Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.