We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real thing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lightner Farmhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Lightner Farmhouse to your Saves list
The Lightner Farmhouse
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Cholsey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The real thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What can one say, all the good things and positives are correct. If you are coming to Gettysburg as part of a Civil War tour stay here, if you are just passing through, still stay here. How many people can say they went to Gettysburg and stayed in a (former) Union Army hospital. Super knowledgable hosts, and not just on the battle and Gettysburg, when I suggested we would follow the CSA army route of withdrawal after the battle as it was in our general direction we were given a detailed route which just added to the whole visit.
Do a battlefield tour, they guy we had could have been at the battle he was so good. The visitor centre is great, the film is very good and take in a Park Ranger talk, very knowledgable people.
Eileen and Dennis, thanks very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gettysburggal35, Owner at The Lightner Farmhouse, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
It is always fun for us to help guests find unique and memorable places to visit in our area or as they head out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
100
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We chose this B&B for two reasons. It's close to the Gettysburg Battlefield and visitors center and the house depicted on the website looks just like one of ours. We could have spent a week here, just reading all of the historical material related to the area and specifically to the house. Built in 1862, it served as a makeshift hospital during the Battle of Gettysburg in 1863. Eileen and Dennis are very accommodating and gracious hosts. They truly love what they do and they do it very well. Great place, great food and warm hospitality, served up with a boat load of incredible history. We'll be back, for sure.

Room Tip: They all looked good, but we liked our room on the first floor with a fireplace and our own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our family stayed at this B and B in June 2012. It was a stop-over on our way to Va Beach. The owners upgraded our room for no additional charge. The suite was spacious and comfortable for our family of 4. They allowed my 11 year old son to metal detect for civil war era artifacts on their spacious property. When he found a couple metal pieces they let him keep them and were helpful in identifying them as possible civil war pieces. The breakfast was outstanding. We had a great experience here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emlenton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in! Eileen and Dennis are great hosts. We asked them places to go and things to experience in Gettysburg and the area and their knowledge and recommendations were spot on. Miss Betty's "Ghost Tour" was awesome and "yes" there are visitors at the B&B if you are looking for ghostly adventures. We stayed in the Cedar Room which has its own entrance which was wonderful. We spent each morning enjoying our morning brews on the porch after a very enjoyable breakfast. We stayed for 5 nights and each day returned to a fresh room. We also enjoyed having a homemade chocolate chip cookie each afternoon - yummo! The location is great - you are far enough out of town to miss the traffic noise; but close enough to be in to town in a jiffy! Super close to the Visitors Center, as well. If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in Gettysburg - the Lightner is it!

Room Tip: The Cedar Room has its own private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

if you like history this is the place-a union hospital after the battle of gettsyburg this place has real charm-owners are wonderful and will spend a lot of time with you to let you know what to do and where to go-they are great at that-the grounds look great-we stayed in a room in an attached extension that encompassed an old behive oven-very charming-the room is very nice but bathroom could use a little updating and it would pay to keep the windows open-it was slightly musty-breakfast is great and plentiful-overall a really good experience at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, IA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were two couples doning the Civil War thing and this was the perfect place. Eileen and Dennis are great host and were very helpful about where to go and what to see. We also tryed their resturant, J's at the village, very good and a great wine list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Lightner Farmhouse. The location was great. Only a few minutes drive from downtown Gettysburg. There were 3 of us and we stayed in the Pine Tree Suite. It was nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. The Innkeepers (Eileen and Dennis) were very welcoming and made sure we felt at home. The breakfast each day was delicious (They also have a restaurant in downtown Gettysburg called J's at the Village which was great! We ate there 3 times during our weekend stay). We also went on the paranormal investigation with Betty one night. It was a lot of fun. All in all a great place to stay and a great weekend!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lightner Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.