We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lightner Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lightner Farmhouse to your Saves list
The Lightner Farmhouse
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Off season rates plus
Ranked #8 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

if you like history this is the place-a union hospital after the battle of gettsyburg this place has real charm-owners are wonderful and will spend a lot of time with you to let you know what to do and where to go-they are great at that-the grounds look great-we stayed in a room in an attached extension that encompassed an old behive oven-very charming-the room is very nice but bathroom could use a little updating and it would pay to keep the windows open-it was slightly musty-breakfast is great and plentiful-overall a really good experience at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy48305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New London, IA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were two couples doning the Civil War thing and this was the perfect place. Eileen and Dennis are great host and were very helpful about where to go and what to see. We also tryed their resturant, J's at the village, very good and a great wine list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Lightner Farmhouse. The location was great. Only a few minutes drive from downtown Gettysburg. There were 3 of us and we stayed in the Pine Tree Suite. It was nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. The Innkeepers (Eileen and Dennis) were very welcoming and made sure we felt at home. The breakfast each day was delicious (They also have a restaurant in downtown Gettysburg called J's at the Village which was great! We ate there 3 times during our weekend stay). We also went on the paranormal investigation with Betty one night. It was a lot of fun. All in all a great place to stay and a great weekend!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nipper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a must stay little gem. David and I had a wonderful stay, and especially enjoyed our paranormal investigation. That rocked!!!!! We would certainly stay here again! Cheers to Eileen, Bob & Betty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My fiancee and I spent three nights at the Lightner Farmhouse, with another couple, and her mom. We had a great time, the owners were very inviting and welcoming. The rooms were very comfortable, every comfort of home. The breakfast was delicious each morning, and Eileen was a gracious hostess. If you have a chance to stay in Gettysburg, I highly recommend the Lightner Farmhouse. It is a place to relax, and enjoy the countryside and the history that is Gettysburg.

Thank you Eileen and Dennis for a wonderful holiday weekend!!!
Jack and Julia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the private cottage for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. Upon our arrival we were greeted very warmly by Eileen and Dennis who gave us a brief history of the house and walked us through the house to our cottage. You can really tell that they love what they do. The cottage was very clean and cozy. It also had a private covered porch with a beautiful view of the grounds and gardens. At the end of the day it was wonderful to come back to a jar of fresh made chocolate chip cookies! But I have to say that our favorite part was the yummy breakfast. Day 1 was a quiche and yogurt with fresh fruit parfait. Day 2 was waffles, bacon, and fresh fruit. It was a wonderful way to start the day! I also recommend eating at J's at the Village Restaurant. The food was was very good and you can't beat the location.

Room Tip: If you want a more intimate stay we highly recommend the Cottage. It is connected to the house thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geezypeasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our second trip to Gettysburg. We stayed in town at the Brafferton the year before and wanted to try a place outside of town. It's no inconvenience whatsoever being outside of town, as most of the main attractions (battlefields, visitor's center/museum, etc.) you have to drive to anyway.

The Lightner is just a few minutes drive from town on a gorgeous piece of land, especially in the early fall. It was so quiet and peaceful out there. There are nice walking trails back into the woods a little, an old barn in the back, a nice side porch and a patio in the back. Everything is just very picturesque. The house itself is impressive and full of history (the house was used as a makeshift hospital during the battle). You'll get a great rundown of that from the friendly owners when you arrive. We enjoyed sitting in the front room looking through the many books and such.

The room was just fine. Nothing too fancy, but everything we expected. The other rooms we caught a glance of looked nice, too. The breakfast was very good, but this was maybe our only slight disappointment here. The only problem being that at the Brafferton, the breakfast is out of this world (and the best part of the Brafferton). So our bar was set really, really high! The Lightner's breakfast was still good though. I would probably pick the Lightner again over the Brafferton because of the ambience and scenery at the Lightner. Oh! And free parking is always good, too!

Room Tip: The suite all the way up at the top is great for a family or two people wanting their own rooms to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
3.2 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#5 of 25 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Swope Manor Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Raphael Inn
Raphael Inn
#2 of 25 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing