We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lightner Farmhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lightner Farmhouse to your Saves list
The Lightner Farmhouse
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Corning, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This bed and breakfast is quaint and full of history. My husband and I truly enjoyed the night we spent there. The room (Birch) was comfortable and full of old fashioned charm. They also had wonderful nature trails on the property, which made for a relaxing evening stroll. The breakfast in the morning was also excellent and kept us full during a full morning of touring and walking. This bed and breakfast was also close to town and the Visitor's Center, but not right in town, which made for a perfect place to unwind from the day. If we return to Gettysburg we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
103
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I have had many visits to Gettysburg. This was our first time at Lightner bed and breakfast. The room, service and breakfast were exceptional. We really enjoyed hiking on their trails and relaxing on the rockers on their porch. The gardens and grounds are beautiful. Eileen gave us several new ideas that made our stay memorable. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our traveling companions, my wife and I were delighted with our stay at the Lightner Farmhouse. Our hosts, Eileen and Dennis were most gracious and informative. The hotel is a short ride from the visitor center just outside of town. When we toured downtown Gettysburg, my wife asked me why we did not book a hotel downtown? There are some nice looking hotels in the heart of the town. However, Gettysburg center is a main junction of a number of highways. Trucks and buses generate a lot of traffic and a lot of noise. The Lightner Farmhouse is far enough away from the highway that all of us had a good night's sleep. The room was excellent as was breakfast. No TV in the rooms but there is a"family room" that has a TV and was the perfect place to have our wine and snacks before dinner in town. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Short distance from town and so very peaceful. We stayed in the Cedar room which has it's own private entrance and wonderful porch with rockers. The room was very clean and the breakfast very good. We hope to go back!!!!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lightner Farmhouse on May 29th and 30th. I had just returned from a tour in Afghanistan and was looking for a quiet romantic place to stay with my wife while visiting Gettysburg. We could not have found a better place! Eileen and Dennis made our stay absolutely fantastic! It started with them greeting us when we arrived and giving us a tour of the house as well as the history of it. We stayed in the Oak Room, and it was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfasts that Dennis cooked were awesome! We loved the fresh fruit. My wife and I enjoyed sitting out on the porch in the rocking chairs and enjoying the good weather we had. Thank you Eileen and Dennis for everything, and we would definitely stay there again!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Lightner Farmhouse May 31-June 4. What a wonderful, peaceful, experience.
We stayed in the Walnut Cottage. The cottage has two rooms , so there is plenty of room to move about. The downstairs is a small living room with a historic brick oven that was used during the civil war to bake bread for the soldiers. The upstairs room contains a king bed and a trundle bed that can sleep two. The breakfast served each morning was plentiful and delicious.
Eileen and Dennis are very gracious and knowledgeable host. They did provide homemade cookies every day which we did enjoy. The house is surrounded by a beautiful farm setting, and there is plenty of trails for hiking. We enjoyed sitting on the rocking chairs outside and bird-watching and playing with the resident cat "Jezabel." The farmhouse is located approx 1.5 miles from the center of town. The town with all the tourist during day and night can be quiet loud. Fortunately, we were able to retreat to Lightner Farmhouse after a busy day of touring and did not have the constant commotion that is present in the downtown area of Gettysburg. I would highly recommend the Lightner Farmhouse to anyone who is looking for a clean, quiet, historic, peaceful, relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Eileen and Dennis are great hosts of the Lightner Farmhouse. We originally only planned to stay one night but we liked it so much that we decided to stay one additional night. The 1st night we stayed in the Cedar room which was nice because it had its own entrance from the side of the house. The 2nd night we stayed in the Walnut Cottage which was larger but still cozy. Eileen was nice enough to rent it to us for the same price as a regular room. All rooms are very clean and have free wi-fi. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The farmhouse was used during the battle of Gettysburg as a Union hospital. Eileen was informative on the history of the house. Breakfast was just okay nothing fabulous but my husband sure enjoyed the cookies.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lightner Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.