We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean but Innkeepers are very uptight!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
33 East Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chadds Ford, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Clean but Innkeepers are very uptight!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

The entire inn was very clean. Not one bit of dirt to be seen. The coffee / soda bar with snacks was a nice touch. The entire place was decorated very cute. Breakfast was good but small and fancy. If you are looking for a big breakfast to get you on your way for a full day of activity this breakfast won't do it. I stayed in the Garden Room which is on the first floor behind the kitchen. No chance to sleep in here! Preparare to be awoken between 6:00-6:30 with the noise of breakfast being prepared and the innkeeper's dog's tags jingleing. Also the bed is not very comfortable and the sheets stink like bleach. The innkeepers while nice and very informative are uptight and a bit condescending. Also there is not enough parking for everyone staying there so be prepared to have to put money in a parking meter across the street. Another bit of advice is to check in as early as possible because there are 2 sittings for breakfast and each sitting only allows a certain number of people. We checked in late and had to eat at the later breakfast losing valuable touring time.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Parking Situation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    22
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
31
164
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Found this lovely place after I "ran away" from the awful Eisenhower (see my other GB review). Wonderful place to stay! (They even gave me a small discount for staying the whole week). See the pictures!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, clean, nice
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

everything was beautiful and great. the rooms very clean. we stayed in the sweet william room. very small tv. sliding doors to a balconyroom was on third floor. so it was a little tiring to get luggage up there. they had no parking left for us so we had to park across the street and was suppose to put money in the parking meter. we slept in and got a $15 parking ticket. not there fault for the ticket. im just warning you about the price of the ticket. Mike was very friendly and helpful, he made you feel very welcomed there. another lady was very nice. the wife , i didnt get to know her she seemed odd. she only talked to a certain couple at breakfast. and didnt try to engage with my husband and I. we ended up talking to another couple. but when i went up to my room. my husband said she still didnt talk to him. Mike talked to us at breakfast. he also printed us out directions.
i did ask about a refridgerater, and was under the impression we had one in our room. but its a small fridge in the dining room. so we ended up buying a cooler with ice for our drinks in the room.
i would definitly recomend this B&B.
any other questions, ask me.
richardsmommie03@yahoo.com

  • Liked — the room. breakfast. hospitality.
  • Disliked — there should be a bigger fridge in the dining area with a small stack of post its so that people know which drinks you can drink.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We "stumbled" on to their website & it was our luck. Becky & Mike, the owners of this wonderful B & B, made our stay more than pleasant, it was wonderful. One of the things I have to comment on was the cleanliness. I couldn't find dustbunny anywhere! I am not a breakfast person but my eyes and tummy could not resist Becky's wonderful recipes. Everything was piping hot and very different from any restaurant fare or anything you would ever cook at home. Also, being a garden /flower enthusiast, their gardens are exquisite with beautiful blooms and NO weeds. The archway leading to the street in the back of the house is lit with tiny lights and the yard is graced with "gaslights". There is no doubt that my husband and I will return there and hopefully get a different room to try. Every room is named after a flower and we stayed in the Sweet William room. Their daughter, Elizabeth, is also on the premises a lot. I think I liked the fact that it seems to be run by the whole family so that means it is run with love and care. Hopefully we will return there in Feb of 2009 with our 12 yr old granddaughter to experience the 200th anniversary of Lincoln's birth. We give this B & B one hundred thumbs up.
Diana & Stuart B.

  • Liked — the hospitality and cleanliness
  • Disliked — that we could not stay longer!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

The Gaslight Inn is a very nice Bed and Breakfast - everything that you would expect. The people there are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and what people like to see while in Gettysburg. they gave us a map and showed exactly how to get to different places and gave a few recommendations. The Inn was in the middle of town and walking distance to most restaurants and shops. Just a short drive from the new visitor center and the battlefields. They have a variety of rooms at a variety of prices. They will arrange tours for you and the breakfast is wonderful. The backyard/garden is beautiful. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Beautiful Inn, excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooksville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

My husband and I were there for the 145th reenactment of the battle of Gettysburg.Our friends {two other couples }also stayed at the Gaslight inn. We could not have been more pleased.Becky and Mike went out of their way to accomodate us due to our event schedule.The breakfast surpassesd all of our expectations.The Inn it's self was very clean neat and welcoming. The rooms were imaculateand well furnished.Beds were very comfortable.None of us wanted to leave. We will return again soon.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, oh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

We had a wonderful experience at the Gaslight Inn. Becky, Mike & Elizabeth were very nice and helpful. Becky made reservations for dinner and storyteller the first night we were there. The two dogs made the place extra friendlier and more like home. Walking distance to the downtown area and restaurants. I can't say enough about this place. Clean, friendly, helpful, and the breakfast was delicious! I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 33 East Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An In-Town Oasis, the Gaslight Inn is a nine room Inn one block from Lincoln Square, the center of town, and one block from Confederate Ave., the Culps Hill area of the Battlefield. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gaslight Hotel Gettysburg
The Gaslight Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gaslight Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.