We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A True Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The James Gettys has it all, warmth, charm, history, great location, hospitality and an excellent value. I had called ahead for a late check-in as the front desk closes at 8 p.m. and the front door is locked. I was given instructions as to where to park and where I could find my key. Instead, when I arrived at 11 p.m. I was greeted warmly by Trisha who had extended her shift 3 additional hours to meet and greet me. That is truly exceptional customer service! I stayed in the Sign of the Spread Eagle Suite for 2 nights. The suite was prettily decorated in greens, blues and cream with a beautiful quilt on the bed and every amenity I could want. It was similar to a 1 bedroom apartment, with a small kitchen, dining and living room area and separate bedroom and bathroom. I had chosen this suite as it faced the side of the restaurant next door and the pretty little outdoor eating area. I did not want the noise that other reviewers had mentioned concerning suites that faced the main street. My suite was very quiet. Loved having the freshly baked pastries, fresh fruit, juice, cream and cookies/chocolate delivered at turn down so I could make my own coffee in the morning and eat at my leisure. The pastries were delicious! The hotel was within walking distance of many historical sites, museums and restaurants. It was the perfect home base. The free parking was an added benefit. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Hi there!

Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure hosting your trip to Gettysburg! Your description of the Sign of the Spread Eagle Suite is as charming as the suite itself! It is the perfect room for a single traveler, or a budget-minded couple that doesn't mind a smaller bed.

We hope to see you again very soon!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    39
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
159
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We chose the James Gettys based on the Trip Advisor reviews, reasonable price, and perfect location. We were assigned to the Keystone Suite which is on the 4th floor overlooking Chambersburg Street. The suite was perfect for my family of three, although a queen bed (instead of a double) would have made things a bit more comfortable. The room was exceptionally clean, and the carpet was the plushest I've ever had in a hotel. The bathroom was a generous size and had plenty of towels (I loved the black hand towel that was embroidered "Make Up" - what a great idea). The continental breakfast (zucchini bread, peach muffins, fruit, and a carafe of OJ) was delivered to our room the night before (around 9 pm), which was great so we could eat at our own pace/time in the AM....the food was really good too. The location was great - most everything was within walking distance or a short drive (it was 5 minutes to the Gettysburg Battlefield Visitors Center). The parking lot was a bit snug, but as it was a small lot off an alley, it wasn't a surprise, but it probably wouldn't be easy for a full size truck, van, or SUV. The rooms facing Chambersburg Street do get a lot of street noise between about 7 am and 9 pm. My big complaint (and the reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5) was that the walls were exceptionally thin - we could hear our neighbors pretty distinctly.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face Chambersburg Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Loved everything! Clean, comfortable and charming. After years of stale muffins and boxed cereals, the homemade treats were a welcome change. The manager of the hotel was attentive and welcoming (as was her sister). We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our first time to see the Gettysburg National Battlefield and we weren't sure where to stay. We chose the James Getty Hotel because it is located in the city center. We were happy with our choice, because we could walk to a restaurant for dinner. We also learned that for a very small price you can take a bus to the Battlefield and other sites from this area if you prefer not to drive. The hotel building is a historic building, but we were disappointed that the room decor is modern. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast consisted of slices of coffeecake, fruit, and orange juice - left in the room so that you can eat it whenever you wish. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel (on Chambersburg Street) have a view of the street. There is a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We regularly stay at the James Getty when visiting Gettysburg. The hotel is located in the heart of Gettysburg - within walking distance to many sites. The innkeepers are so kind and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. It is one of the few hotels where I am actually comfortable - it is super clean, up to date, and I LOVE that each suite is so large for such a reasonable price. You can't beat the deal or experience! I HIGHLY recommend the James Getty! We'll be returning there next year!

Room Tip: If you like a quiet night's sleep, request a room at the back of the hotel. The rooms in the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your continued support of our hotel! We always love to see familiar faces and greatly look forward to your next visit! Thank you for your comments on our cleanliness and size of our suites. It is our pleasure to create a home-away-from-home environment; I'm so glad you can relax in comfort here!

See you next year!
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We loved everything about this hotel: It's historic look; it's cleanliness and modern amenities such as wi-fi; our suite (John Trumbull Sr) complete with kitchen, breakfast left in the fridge, and cookies or chocolates left at night; Lord Nelson's Gallery connected to it; Adams County Winery on one side of it and the Blue Parrot Bistro on the other side. The hotel staff was gracious and answered all of our question as well. We had a great weekend and we will be back some day to try a different suite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in the John Troxell, Sr. Suite! I will be very interested to see which suite you choose next time and to hear how they compare. We have some guests who have made it a mission to stay in each suite! Each room is well-decorated and comfortably furnished, but they each have their own distinct personalities.

We hope to see you again very soon!
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I met up with our son and his family for a visit to Gettysburg and environs and we stayed at this charming, well-located historic hotel for three nights. Our rooms were spacious, bright, clean and nicely appointed. It was great to have a kitchenette in each room.

The downtown location could not have been better in terms of easy access to many restaurants, grocery store and drug store, as well as the battlefield and other historic sites.

We loved finding our homemade breakfast treats, plus juice and fruit, in our room the night before, not to mention evening treats like cookies or dark chocolate. A really nice touch!

If I were to offer two minor suggestions, they would be 1) the shag carpet in our room (Sign of the Buck) should probably be upgraded to something newer and nicer; and 2) the staff, while always friendly and helpful when we rang for them, never seemed to be at the front desk. Unauthorized individuals could easily wander into the lobby, push the elevator button and go up to any floor.

All in all, this is an excellent hotel that we would highly recommend and that we would certainly stay in again ourselves.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! I'm so glad your family enjoyed staying with us during your recent visit to Gettysburg! We always enjoy hosting family groups - everyone is always having such a great time!

We always appreciate guest feedback, so thank you very much for your comments! Some minor renovations, including carpet replacement, are in our sights as we look ahead to our hotel's 20th anniversary, so stay tuned!

I would just like to put your mind at ease regarding your comment about our unmanned front desk; safety and security of our guests and our property are of the utmost importance to us. Each of our innkeepers wears many "hats" during his/her shift, so we find that keeping an innkeeper at the desk at all times for a hotel of our size is not really feasible.

However, you may have noticed that our office is located right next to the elevator in the lobby, and we tend to poke our heads out to greet the guests as they come and go. In addition to this, we are able to be reached by phone at all times and we are able to monitor the lobby with a security camera when our tasks take us downstairs.

After each of our guests has checked in, we also lock our front door (which is why each guest room key has been mastered to the lobby door) and perform walk-throughs of the building each evening.

Thank you once again for your comments and for the opportunity to address this very important topic! We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#6 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#8 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Gettys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.