We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I met up with our son and his family for a visit to Gettysburg and environs and we stayed at this charming, well-located historic hotel for three nights. Our rooms were spacious, bright, clean and nicely appointed. It was great to have a kitchenette in each room.

The downtown location could not have been better in terms of easy access to many restaurants, grocery store and drug store, as well as the battlefield and other historic sites.

We loved finding our homemade breakfast treats, plus juice and fruit, in our room the night before, not to mention evening treats like cookies or dark chocolate. A really nice touch!

If I were to offer two minor suggestions, they would be 1) the shag carpet in our room (Sign of the Buck) should probably be upgraded to something newer and nicer; and 2) the staff, while always friendly and helpful when we rang for them, never seemed to be at the front desk. Unauthorized individuals could easily wander into the lobby, push the elevator button and go up to any floor.

All in all, this is an excellent hotel that we would highly recommend and that we would certainly stay in again ourselves.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! I'm so glad your family enjoyed staying with us during your recent visit to Gettysburg! We always enjoy hosting family groups - everyone is always having such a great time!

We always appreciate guest feedback, so thank you very much for your comments! Some minor renovations, including carpet replacement, are in our sights as we look ahead to our hotel's 20th anniversary, so stay tuned!

I would just like to put your mind at ease regarding your comment about our unmanned front desk; safety and security of our guests and our property are of the utmost importance to us. Each of our innkeepers wears many "hats" during his/her shift, so we find that keeping an innkeeper at the desk at all times for a hotel of our size is not really feasible.

However, you may have noticed that our office is located right next to the elevator in the lobby, and we tend to poke our heads out to greet the guests as they come and go. In addition to this, we are able to be reached by phone at all times and we are able to monitor the lobby with a security camera when our tasks take us downstairs.

After each of our guests has checked in, we also lock our front door (which is why each guest room key has been mastered to the lobby door) and perform walk-throughs of the building each evening.

Thank you once again for your comments and for the opportunity to address this very important topic! We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    39
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
157
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My Husband and I traveled to Gettysburg for a quick overnight trip on my Birthday. We picked the James Getty Hotel due to its location. The hotel is very clean and the managers were very nice and knowledgeable. The breakfast basket of lemon bread and muffin's was a nice way to greet the morning, perfect with a cup of coffee. We will be returning to Gettysburg and plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for spending your birthday with us! I'm so glad you enjoyed your overnight trip to Gettysburg - this small town has so much to offer, I'm sure we will see you again!

Thank you also for the compliments on our staff and breakfast treats! We love seeing to the little details that make our guests feel at home.

We hope to see you again soon!
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC-MO
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wow
A great place seriously
Stayed in city hotel suite which was large two room suite and really what you want after a day touring.
B'fast is continental ?? With carbs served the evening before- so if you want b'fast don't count on this!
That being said the staff is great
Elevator is v nice
Free parking is a plus
Would definitely come again

Room Tip: Choose room on line 318 was great and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! What you said about the City Hotel Suite being "what you want after a day of touring" is exactly the experience we strive to bring each of our guests! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Gettysburg - we hope you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the union room and it was great such a cute lil room very clean and comfy and the breakfast was delicious we will definitely be staying here again I think next time we will choose a different room but overall this was a great place everyone was very friendly :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your review, and for spending your anniversary getaway at the James Gettys! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Union Hotel Suite and plan to try another suite in the future! Each suite has a different decor and furnishings, but they are all wonderfully comfortable.

I look forward to seeing you again soon and seeing which suite you choose next!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our family highly recommends the James Getty's Hotel in Gettysburg. We are a military family of four, with infant twins, coming back to the states from our Germany assignment. Since our flight was delayed by 3 hours we contacted the hotel via email to let them know that we would have an even later arrival, making it closer to 2am or 3am. The hotel concierge, Patricia, received our message and replied immediately to let us know they would be waiting for us. She went home and rested and came back to greet us when we finally arrived at 3am. After an exhausting journey with our infants, we were so relieved to be greeted with a smile. To top off the long night, as we were unloading our bags from the rental car, I locked the keys inside with our babies! Patricia called the police for us and stayed with us until they were able to open the vehicle.
When we finally made it to our room there was juice and muffins waiting for us. The room was beautiful with a large, comfy bed and two baby beds for our little ones. We spent two nights and we couldn't have been happier with the amenities.
The James Gettys Hotel is the best hotel in Gettysburg. It will forever be our first choice when we return for future visits!

Room Tip: We had the suite with the kitchenette which was a huge benefit with our infant twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
First, I'd like to extend to you our greatest thanks for your service to our country! It was an honor to have you stay with us your very first nights back in the States!

It is always a pleasure to offer our very best service to our guests. We understand that travel delays are unavoidable and are happy to arrange our schedules to meet the needs of our guests whenever possible!

In this particular instance, I'm glad that Trisha was on hand to help in your tense situation upon arrival! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is he best hotel in Gettysburg! It has an excellent location right in downtown Gettysburg! Free parking! Free homemade breakfasts! The rooms are spotless, and all have kitchenettes! The A/C worked great, and the tv had over 200 channels in HD! This is the only place I will stay when in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you're looking for a quaint hotel in an historic location, this is it. Old brown stone building right in the middle of town. Easy access to all the battlefields, restaurants and shopping. Nice staff and rooms. I would go there again on next visit. Only slight negative is that the price is higher than other hotels. If you're looking for budget, stay just outside of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Gettys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.