We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look beyond here- great all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
KC-MO
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Don't look beyond here- great all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wow
A great place seriously
Stayed in city hotel suite which was large two room suite and really what you want after a day touring.
B'fast is continental ?? With carbs served the evening before- so if you want b'fast don't count on this!
That being said the staff is great
Elevator is v nice
Free parking is a plus
Would definitely come again

Room Tip: Choose room on line 318 was great and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! What you said about the City Hotel Suite being "what you want after a day of touring" is exactly the experience we strive to bring each of our guests! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Gettysburg - we hope you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    30
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
135
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the union room and it was great such a cute lil room very clean and comfy and the breakfast was delicious we will definitely be staying here again I think next time we will choose a different room but overall this was a great place everyone was very friendly :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your review, and for spending your anniversary getaway at the James Gettys! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Union Hotel Suite and plan to try another suite in the future! Each suite has a different decor and furnishings, but they are all wonderfully comfortable.

I look forward to seeing you again soon and seeing which suite you choose next!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our family highly recommends the James Getty's Hotel in Gettysburg. We are a military family of four, with infant twins, coming back to the states from our Germany assignment. Since our flight was delayed by 3 hours we contacted the hotel via email to let them know that we would have an even later arrival, making it closer to 2am or 3am. The hotel concierge, Patricia, received our message and replied immediately to let us know they would be waiting for us. She went home and rested and came back to greet us when we finally arrived at 3am. After an exhausting journey with our infants, we were so relieved to be greeted with a smile. To top off the long night, as we were unloading our bags from the rental car, I locked the keys inside with our babies! Patricia called the police for us and stayed with us until they were able to open the vehicle.
When we finally made it to our room there was juice and muffins waiting for us. The room was beautiful with a large, comfy bed and two baby beds for our little ones. We spent two nights and we couldn't have been happier with the amenities.
The James Gettys Hotel is the best hotel in Gettysburg. It will forever be our first choice when we return for future visits!

Room Tip: We had the suite with the kitchenette which was a huge benefit with our infant twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
First, I'd like to extend to you our greatest thanks for your service to our country! It was an honor to have you stay with us your very first nights back in the States!

It is always a pleasure to offer our very best service to our guests. We understand that travel delays are unavoidable and are happy to arrange our schedules to meet the needs of our guests whenever possible!

In this particular instance, I'm glad that Trisha was on hand to help in your tense situation upon arrival! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This is he best hotel in Gettysburg! It has an excellent location right in downtown Gettysburg! Free parking! Free homemade breakfasts! The rooms are spotless, and all have kitchenettes! The A/C worked great, and the tv had over 200 channels in HD! This is the only place I will stay when in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you're looking for a quaint hotel in an historic location, this is it. Old brown stone building right in the middle of town. Easy access to all the battlefields, restaurants and shopping. Nice staff and rooms. I would go there again on next visit. Only slight negative is that the price is higher than other hotels. If you're looking for budget, stay just outside of town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our stay at the James Geddy Hotel was simply delightful! In celebration of my birthday, the staff made arrangements for a beautiful floral arrangement and yummy cupcakes to be waiting for me upon arrival. They also booked tours for us in advance. The room was quaint and immaculate. The service was impeccable and the staff friendly and helpful. The carafe of orange juice and lovely basket of fresh baked muffins, breads and fruit delivered to our room each evening was a wonderful and delicious treat. Our stay at the James Geddy Hotel was one of the most impressive weekend getaways we’ve had in a long time. We’ll definitely return for more visits and recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a great experience at James Getty. From the staff in checking in...they had great suggestions and directions...to the room...I felt at home. It was great. The baked items and turn down items...chocolate and cookies....were yummy. Easy place to find and get to places. And we left something in the room at check out and they called us as soon as they had them...luckily we were not out of town yet. Loved this place!!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room but the others are big so you should have a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Gettys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.