We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top Shelf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The perfect weekend away hotel and perhaps the perfect hotel for a week away as well. Our suite had cooking, refrigerator, and cosy comfort for two. All enhanced by the delightful complimentary fresh baked goods, made in the kitchen on the first floor. We will stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    31
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
139
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed here Friday and Saturday 2/21 and 2/22. The hotel is in an excellent location in downtown Gettysburg. There are plenty of restaurants, shopping and attractions to choose from in walking distance. We stayed in the John Troxell suite facing the street. This suite had a spacious sitting area with kitchen stocked with coffee and tea and full size refrigerator. The complimentary snacks of cheese, muffins, bread, fruit, cookies and OJ were all excellent. The suite also had a comfortable bedroom. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel also has a convenient parking area behind the building. The hotel also provides WIFI and cable.

,

Room Tip: Room facing the street have some street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were fortunate to stay at this hotel over the a long Martin Luther King holiday in 2014. We were looking to go skiing at Liberty and the hotels there were booked. This hotel was only 13 miles from the mountain so we gave it a try. What a treat! Upon our arrival, we entered the front door were we were greeted by friendly staff. It felt very cozy and charming! Our large suite was ready to go and waiting in our room was a lovely plate of fresh fruit and cheeses for snack, and fresh juice, cream and pastries for the morning. I loved the kitchenette, it came in handy during our stay. The Tuesday we were there, a large snow storm hit. We were able to get out and go skiing, but the staff made sure when we got back we had fresh baked cookies and hot chocolate to warm our chilled bones. Thanks Catrina for taking such good care of us! Location is also great. Easy to experience the History that surrounds the hotel and plenty of places to eat locally. We were able to walk to the local Blue & Grey bar for drinks and dinner several times. Great burgers! Can't wait to go back! Thanks again

Room Tip: We had The Sign of the Buck Suite. 3 Floor - easy access of the elevator but also easy access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

we loved the spaciousness of the suite, very clean, comfortable bed, and loved eating the breakfast in our room at our leisure! Gettysburg is a lovely town to walk, eat and shop in. We loved the bangers and mash at Caryowens Irish Pub! Cannot wait to stay here again! the only suggestion I would have is to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as you can hear your neighbors...ear plugs worked for me. Friendly, helpful, staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend and this place did not let us down. Free parking in the back of the building was an added bonus. Rooms were big with the kitchen, living area, bathroom and bedroom. Nice Hi-Def T.V. to watch some Olympic action. The homemade muffins and cakes and other food they provided were all top quality. Lots of good places to eat at and shop are right out the front door. We stayed in the "Indian" Suite and were aware of the fact that road noise can be an issue. A pair of ear plugs helped to bring about a good nights sleep. Ask for a room in the back of the hotel if this is a problem for you. We have stayed in Gettysburg many times in the past and will return to James Gettys again for our return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel was just what I was looking for, for a quick weekend away. It was close and had great restaurants near by. Everyone was friendly and very helpful with recommendations. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The Blue Parrot Room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel fantastic and the suites were huge! We got a living room, bedroom, kitchenette and bath instead of just a bedroom with a desk and chair in the corner. Too bad we were only staying for one night. If I was taking my family for a visit to Gettysburg, this would be the perfect "home base." Right off the square, walking distance to food and entertainment, and private parking in the alley.

This hotel has the charm of a B&B with unique suites and lots of personal touches. I liked fresh baked goods (no packaged stuff), OJ, and fruits for the Continental breakfast plus quality coffee, not the stale packages. There was even a flash-light in our bedroom...have you ever been in a hotel when the power went out? I haven't, but Gburg does have a sketchy power system so its great that the hotel is thinking of all possible needs.

I agree with the comments about the noise! The Lincoln Highway is right outside the room. The history is appreciated (this road is what gave Eisenhower to inspiration for the Interstate System), but the trucks keep driving by all night. I had a pair of earplugs in my bag, so I had no trouble sleeping. The hotel should consider offering the cheap foam pairs to light-sleeping guests rather then face bad reviews for something totally beyond their control.

Room Tip: Great view from the 4th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Gettys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.