We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The James Gettys is The place to stay in Gettysburg.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Save Saved
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Apollo, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The James Gettys is The place to stay in Gettysburg.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I were there for Remembrance Week-end. With 10,000 people in town, Gettysburg is a madhouse. The James Gettysburg offered a quiet place to relax. The evening snacks of cookies or chocolate were much appreciated. The staff is delightful and were willing to help with directions and places to eat and shop. The baked goodies were on par with any top notch bakery but were homemade. The breakfast delivered to our room made it easy to sleep in and enjoy it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Parrot but have stayed in the Majestic on a prior trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
121
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emlenton, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I booked the hotel for me and my wife for a 5 year wedding anniversary. I originally booked the "Union Room Suite" but when we got to the front desk someone cancelled and she offered us a different room at no charge. The front desk lady even went as far as showing us our room i booked and also the extra room she offered us. We took the bigger room (Of course) which was called "Sign of the Buck".

Now i did read some reviews on all the rooms by the main road is very noisy. Which was 100% true. IT WAS SOOOOO loud and trying to sleep was unreal...Between the bar on the right hand side, the people outside laughing, yelling, car alarms going off, trucks going by etc etc it was almost impossible to sleep. My wife actually had to sleep on the couch in the little living room area since it was so loud. Your room is dead quite also like im talking you could hear a pin drop. Which is any other situation it would be excellent. My advice is to bring a box fan or some type of sleep app for your phone to drown out the noise if you have trouble sleeping. (Which is what i had to do...)

Figuring the noise couldn't get any more annoying from outside. The people above us you could hear walking around since the floor would creak non stop. You could also hear them taking a shower with the water running and also when they would flush the toilet..... It was like a flash back of when i lived in an apartment house and i could hear almost everything.

The hotel really really really lacks Noise-Reduction. We could even hear people walking up and down the main stairwell. I would maybe come back again but only for a room that was away from the main road, maybe in the back. No joke people, please do research on the room you get and where it's located in the hotel, also what floor your on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the James Gettys. It was wonderful! The staff was very welcoming and efficient. We stayed in the Blue Parrot Tea room, it was huge and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the coffee was fabulous! Katrina is the baker and she is extremely talented. The location is perfect. Easily accessible to everything. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in The Majestic suite and couldn't have bee happier with the experience.

The room: First of all, The Majestic suite is huge and very comfortable. The chair and couch in the living area were a great place to rest weary feet after hours on the battlefields, walking around town, and ghost tours. The decor is fitting with the building period a touch of modern day comfort. The bed was comfortable (we would have been happier with a queen, but we are cuddlers) and the bedroom area has a nice electric fireplace. The bathroom has a great jetted tub, separate shower, and a separate toilet area.

The staff: The only thing I can say is wow! Everyone we encountered was was friendly and happy! Nice to see a group of people who seem like they enjoy their work. Catriona, the front desk clerk (innkeeper?) is simply effervescent!

The location: Besides driving to the battlefields, we walked everywhere. Fantastic location - close to restaurants, bars, and shops.

Breakfast was delivered to the rooms in the afternoon and was quite good (OJ, muffins, and bread). There's a coffee maker as well. Turndown service with lovely local chocolates. A few potential downsides (depending on your pickiness, these things didn't bother us in the least): there's a little peeling wallpaper in the bathroom and it could be a little loud outside at night. Those are seriously the only two things I could think may turn some travelers off. If we return to Gettysburg, I won't even think about staying elsewhere.

Thanks to the James Getty for helping to make our weekend away wonderful!

Room Tip: The Majestic is great if you like having a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! It was lovely hosting your visit to Gettysburg. I will be sure to circulate your kind words to our staff. We have a good team and we enjoy what we do. Please come and see us again soon!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed three nights at this B&B and wish that we had planned a longer trip. Beautiful rooms, spotless and very cozy. The continental breakfast is delicious and served in cute baskets. Don't miss the freshly ground coffee - it is wonderful. The staff is extremely friendly, courteous and very helpful. Location is in the center of this very quaint town and very close to excellent shopping, dining and of course the battlefield. The room had a terrific kitchen and sitting area. One of the best places we have ever stayed. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "blue parrot tea room" - a corner room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We enjoyed having you stay with us even if it wasn't long enough! I'm so glad you like the Blue Parrot Tearoom Suite; it is one of our prettiest rooms in my opinion. It's an especially nice room to have when visiting in cold weather - the blues and yellows make it very cheery. Come back and see us soon!
Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Getttysburg. Our stay at the James Gettys Hotel was very good. The location is great - it's is the center of town within walking distance to pubs and restaurants. Our room was perfect for the two of us. It had a bedroom, kitchenette with a table and a seating area. The rooms weren't large but they were very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. Actually quite cozy. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide a cozy atmosphere that is a welcoming place to rest after a long day exploring Gettysburg! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My mom and I take an annual trip to a new city each fall. This was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at in all our travels. The rooms are spacious suites with lovely amenities. The James Gettys focuses on the details--each day, a basket of fresh, local baked goods are brought to your room, along with orange juice or local cider. The coffee is freshly ground, and at night, a sweet treat (cookies, chocolate) awaits you after a long day sightseeing. The location is perfect to walk anywhere in town and is away from the noisy stretch on Baltimore Street. Wonderful service, and very reasonably priced. We would highly recommend the James Gettys to anyone planning a trip to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I’m glad you and your mom enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your review and your compliments! We enjoy pampering our guests and providing those little details that make any stay memorable. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Gettys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.