We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay In Gettysburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Save Saved
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay In Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I would not only stay at James Getty Hotel again, but I would Highly recommend it to friends and family! Excellent location, Immaculate rooms, Helpful and Friendly staff, Wonderful breakfast baskets .. .. Our trip was Incredible, and this Hotel was one of many, many positives!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for spreading the word about our hotel! We are so glad that you chose us to be a part of your Gettysburg experience and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
122
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We would definitely stay here again. Great location, wonderful staff and the breakfast baskets of muffins or coffee cake and sweet bread with fresh fruit are not to be missed. It was very clean and lots of room. We loved the location. Perfect place to stay during a visit to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Main Street but it wasn't that noisy even though there was a lot of traffic b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I’m so glad you enjoyed our baked goods – most of our fruits come straight from local farmers' markets. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I have always wanted to see Gettysburg, so I was very careful to choose the right sort of place to stay in the perfect part of town. James Gettys was it! They offered fabulous service with a smile and clean, comfortable, spacious accommodations! The hotel is very historic, yet has all the modern amenities in the heart of downtown Gettysburg. The central location was perfect to walk to restaurants, shopping, etc.... we had the best time! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your first visit to Gettysburg! We enjoy taking care of our guests and our property, and we strive to make it a comfortable “home base” for exploring our town. There is always more to see in Gettysburg, so I hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is located right on Chambersburg St. and everything in Downtown Gettysburg is jsut a few steps away. The visitors center is only a short drive from the hotel, and parking is free for hotel guests (given that they charge per hour for parking on public roads, that's a huge bonus).
The suite I stayed in was facing the main street but still was quiet and very comfortable. When looking at prices for the hotel keep in mind that they only offer suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay! We do our best to keep outside noise to a minimum, so thank you very much for commenting on the peacefulness of your stay! The City Hotel Suite is a lovely room and the additional windows in the bedroom always make it seem so light and airy. I hope you will visit us again!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend in Gettysburg with 2 other families. We were traveling with 2 children ages 3 & 10. We had the whole 3rd floor to ourselves since there are 3 rooms up there. Each room had its own kitchenette. One room had a very large living area that we were all able to hang out in the evenings while the kids could go to sleep earlier. While it wasn't the most modern facility, it was clean and homey. We are quite picky as to where we lay our heads, but we were extremely pleased with the Gettys. The owners were lovely & the baked goods each day were wonderful. Not only was it nice to hang out as a large family in the evenings instead of retreating back to each room...we saved money by having a kitchen to make lunches and store our snacks & waters.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We enjoyed having your families stay with us! Our innkeepers and housekeepers always strive to keep the hotel as clean and welcoming as we would expect our accommodations to be on our own travels. Thank you for spending your family weekend with us! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomeroy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to Gettysburg on a family trip and stayed here. It was a wonderful old hotel within walking distance to restaurants and attractions. The room was delightful for a family of 4. I was expecting a fold out couch and had ordered a rollaway bed too,thankfully. The couch was not a foldout. The kids slept well and it all worked out.

Room Tip: There is no pool at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! Many of our suites are large enough to accommodate a family of four comfortably with the addition of a rollaway. The Keystone Hotel Suite is the only room with a sofa-bed. We’ve found that regular sofas are far more comfortable than those that contain beds. I’m so glad you enjoyed our hotel and your visit to Gettysburg. For future stays, please ask about the Zeigler-Holtzworth Livery Suite; it has a twin daybed and trundle to accommodate a family of four. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the John Gettys and loved it. The room was large and nicely decorated. We felt at home and enjoyed the wonderful home baked goods we received each day for breakfast. Lovely hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Venere, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Gettys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.