We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be sure to stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We will be sure to stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the James Gettys couldn't have been nicer. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, the location was ideal (half a block from Lincoln Square, the town "center"), and our suite was comfortable, beautiful, and spotless. It is obvious how much care the staff takes-their attention to detail was remarkable. We were greeted by a plate of some of the yummiest cheese and chocolate we've ever had, and our juice and cream for the next morning's breakfast was already in the fridge, along with a fruit and muffin basket. The suite felt so warm and homey, that I am almost sad we did so much sightseeing. We were also delighted that the room was made up while we were out so that we didn't have to come back to a messy bed or our breakfast dishes in the sink. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Assistant Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay - we love to pamper our guests! There is so much to see and do in Gettysburg, it can really keep you on the go, especially the first trip. Perhaps on your return trip, you'll find more time for relaxing in your suite! I hope you'll visit us again soon!

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    29
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
134
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My boyfriend went to Gettysburg with another couple recently after purchasing the Living Social deal; we all stayed at the James Gettys, and we all loved it! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are very cute and cozy. I love that each room has its own kitchen (even though we never cooked in it the whole weekend). We also loved the idea of having a breakfast plate delivered every morning rather than your typical big awkward breakfast with everyone in the hotel! :-) Would definitely stay here again and will recommend to all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Innkeeper at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our hotel! I'm also glad you enjoyed the breakfast baskets; there's something very relaxing about being able to eat at your own leisure in the morning. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The James Gettys Hotel in Gettysburg is an overall superb accommodation! Our room was spacious, clean and welcoming. The staff were attentive to every need we had. I would recommend and return here when visiting Gettysburg!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Innkeeper at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure to be a part of your recent visit to Gettysburg! I'm so glad you found your suite spacious enough to suit your needs. We enjoy hosting families and are always excited to point visitors in the right direction to get the most out of their trip. There is so much to explore in Gettysburg, I hope you will visit us again!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel, and it was fantastic. We had a suite with a kitchen, living room, and bedroom. The staff is very nice, and they bring you a cheese plate with fruit and chocolate on your arrival. For breakfast, they supplied fresh muffins, OJ,and cake. For a treat, they gave us freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Location is perfect for visiting the Gettysburg Visitor Center, museums and the fields where soldiers fought during the Civil War. A lot of nice restaurants in the area, especially Glenowens Pub.

Room Tip: Request a Kings size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Innkeeper at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic review of our hotel! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am always glad to hear that our guests are enjoying all that Gettysburg has to offer - being in the center of town makes it so easy to just walk out the front door and find something to do! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just returned home from a weekend in Gettysburg, PA where we stayed at the James Gettys Hotel. Our choice to stay there was based on a Living Social offer- so we did not do much research- the pictures were beautiful, location was good, and other reviews were glowing. Well, all I can add is that it was one of the finest places we have stayed (and we are international travelers) - ever. Our suite was cozy and SO comfortable- and the treats left for us- well, YUM is the best word to use. We spent the days sightseeing and then came back to rest and it was better than being home! If you go to Gettysburg- THIS is the place to stay- the James Gettys Hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room with a street view- but all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonald, Pa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I got our reservations via Living Social, such a great deal but realy surprised when we got attention a few times via email even before we left for our trip. The great parking in front of the hotel, extremely friendly staff greeting us at the door, help in with bags, directing us to a permanent parking space, then the best part was when we opened the door to our suite! I told my husband not to move a thing, I had to take photos before we got into the place. Then we had our bed turned down, a lovely evening snack placed in our room every eve along with the next mornings breakfast. What a pleasant surprise all of that was. ALso, they are right in the middle of Gettysburg so we didn't even have to move our car for our stay, everything in walking distance. We definitely will return.

Room Tip: we only saw our suite, the Union, and it had large windows to allow the sun in, quiet. rather close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Innkeeper at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel! We enjoyed having you as guests and are thrilled to hear those three little words, "we will return"! I'm so glad you enjoyed the Union Hotel Suite - I always love how much sunlight the rooms on that side of the building are given, despite facing the neighboring building. Thanks again for your compliments; we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We also purchased our getaway on LivingSocial and were completely blown away by the hotel and it's staff. We stayed in the James Troxell Suite, and it was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and full of amenities we really weren't expecting. The fresh muffins, cakes and fruits for breakast were delicious, and the fruit, cheese and chocolate plate upon arriving hit the spot after our time exploring. Our stay was too short, so we will be returning. If you go to Gettysburg, try and stay at the James Gettys Hotel. It's right in the middle of everything, and not that far from the Gettysburg National Military Park and Visitor's Center. You are able to immerse yourself in history, while surrounding yourself with the luxury that is the James Gettys Hotel. We can't wait until our next visit!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trisha1996, Innkeeper at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even if your visit was too short. There is so much in Gettysburg to see and do, I think you're right that you will need more time to explore everything! I hope you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Gettys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.