We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location comfortable accommodation but mediocre breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Save Saved
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Glasgow Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location comfortable accommodation but mediocre breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

You will struggle to find a better location in Gettysburg than The James Getty's. it's right beside the main square and once you work out how to access the small parking area behind the hotel parking is a doodle.
I had a utility which consisted of a small sitting room and kitchenette with a compact bedroom and bathroom. I think I was given this because I was travelling on my own, but it was perfectly comfortable for my two-night stay.
Everything worked well, had a decent coffee machine, but I found the breakfast which is left on your kitchen table on a plate, somewhat limited and unsatisfactory.
The service at check-in was a little perfunctory but I was given all the information I asked for if perhaps in a somewhat efficient rather than friendly manner. However I'd recommend the James Getty's for its great location and decent accommodation. At least it's not another chain property and has its own character so deserves your consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
121
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We took our visiting Canadian relative for a one night stay in Gettysburg, along with our two early-teen sons. Our family had one suite, which had a bedroom and a living room with a daybed and trundle for the boys, plus a small kitchen area. Our guest had her own suite next door with a sitting area, kitchenette, which became our "adult" space to hang out. Perfect. The rooms were clean and very cozy, with good coffee and a charming basket of baked goods and fruit brought for the next day's breakfast. They also had dark chocolate squares patterned after the hotel's facade. We loved the old building and the slightly slanted stairs. We liked everything about this little hotel but the best thing about it were the employees - helpful, friendly and accommodating. The young lady at the desk there made excellent restaurant recommendations - for the Thai place down the street and the Dobbin House. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineland, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stay here every time we come to Gettysburg, and it never fails to impress. The place is immaculate, the staff is exceedingly friendly, and the location is excellent. It is one of the highlights of our visits to a town we really enjoy. Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay at JG Hotel was great! It was immaculately clean. The Hotel goes to lengths to attend to details to make your stay comfortable, such as including dish soap, and cream for coffee. The staff was helpful and courteous at all times. Worth every penny to stay in such a beautiful building so close to the center of town. Reserved parking directly in front of the building allows you to unload with ease, and rear parking is convenient. They even had flannel sheets! I would absolutely recommend staying if your budget allows. This hotel doesn't even compare with a chain hotel. Having a suite makes even a two day stay so much more enjoyable. I am looking forward to my next stay at the JGH!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Sign of the Golden Cross Keys" suite, and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our entire experience with the James Gettys Hotel was wonderful. My wife has trouble sleeping, and the room we originally reserved might have been too near the street. The hotel was nice enough to recommend a better room because of that, and it was an excellent suggestion, We stayed in Lord Nelson's Suite, and the accommodations were excellent. The suite was quiet, spacious and clean. The continental breakfast was a perfect size for us. The staff was friendly and helpful. Not only would we return again, but I can't imagine staying anywhere else while in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On our vacation, we stayed one night at the James Getty hotel in Gettysburg. The bathroom was clean and had a number of nice amenities, however, the living area furnishings really need a makeover! The sofa and chair were dated 70's and the fabrics were less than clean. For $195 a night, we expected more! There is free parking behind the hotel and the location is in the heart of the tourist area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A group of us stayed at the James Getty's hotel for a long weekend in Gettysburg. The staff was very helpful with all of our pre-arrival requests for information on boxed lunches, renting vans, and restaurant suggestions. Thanks to the hotel's suggestions we were able to find local businesses that provided us with exactly what we were looking for. The rooms in the hotel were clean, comfortable, and spacious! The location, right in the middle of town was ideal, and with parking in the rear of the hotel, it could not have been more convenient. The afternoon treats were much appreciated after returning from long days exploring the Gettysburg countryside. And the breakfast baskets were excellent! We loved the cranberry apple streusel coffee cake, the strawberry bread, and blackberry muffins! Also, the REAL coffee, nice selection of teas, and juice in the frig were fantastic! Thanks to the staff of the hotel for making our weekend so enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Gettys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.