We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Gettys Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added James Gettys Hotel to your Saves list
James Gettys Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Seaside Park, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a really nice place, very convenient downtown location and close to the battlefields and all the sights. Great service with little extras like breakfast in your room every day and a nice platter of goodies on arrival. Staff very friendly and helpful. Small hotel, casual atmosphere. The room was actually a suite, including stove, refrig, separate bedroom, dining table. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask if every room is a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope if back in Gettysburg - you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    39
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
155
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I completed my 9th stay at the James Gettys in January 2012. Wha can I stay - except that you cannot improve PERFECTION. Special tanks to Stephanie and all the staff for making my stay as WONDERFUL as ever. Other hotels and B & s in Gettysburg wold do well to emulate the HIGHEST level of service as exhibited by Stephanie & the staff.
BRAVO to all - extremely well done!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

First trip to Gettysburg and the hallowed battlefield. This hotel seemed to take you back in time (ignoring all the modern amenities, of course) and perfectly suited the weekend. A-plus on all the usual categories. And the folks were especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was a gift from our daughter who bought a 2 night stay on living social. The room was so nice. Large like a one bedroom apartment. When we arrived there was cheese, crackers, strawberries with chocolate to welcome us. They then brought up muffins, juice and grapes for the morning. Great location, well maintained, wifi and CLEAN!! We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and it was really nice to have met you.
Sincerely,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Best place to stay in the Gettysburg area. Super clean, friendly and spacious. In the morning you get a couple pastries of some kind, a caraffe of OJ, butter and milk for tea/coffee available in the room. All the baked goods are made there so they're fresh. Also, this hotel is supposedly haunted, so it's fun to stay there and see what you can see! I rated the sleep quality "average" because it's on a busy street in a college town, but that's not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Get a suite on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at the James Getty this weekend. Having stayed at several Bed and Breakfasts before this one, I found the James Getty to be a bit different. Typically the hosts at a B&B are very social and helpful, but I am not sure if I even met the owners or not. Also, there was not a common area to get coffee or a drink or anything. Most B&B's I have been at allow the ability to get something when you want to. While the breakfast was not hot or served in a dining area, it was very yummy! I enjoyed every bread, muffin, and cake. Like I said, just different than most.
The location is great. You can walk around the town and shop or eat, it is very convinient. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. I love that there was a living area with a mini kitchen and everything. On the down side, the noise on the street was VERY noisy at 2am when the bar next door closed and our bed was very squeaky.
Overall, I would certainly stay here again. Especially now that I know what to expect. I would simply ask for a room in the back of the hotel instead.

Room Tip: Choose one in the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie0917, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. Please visit us again soon.
Sincerely,

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We go to Gettysburg two or three times a year and this was our first stay a the james Gettys Hotel. It was by far the best time we ever had. We will make it a point to stay there at every opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to James Gettys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Gettys Hotel

Address: 27 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — James Gettys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Gettys Hotel is an all-suite boutique hotel with the personality of a traditional bed and breakfast. This historic property offers twelve tastefully-appointed modern suites, each with a bedroom, comfortable sitting room, kitchenette and private bath. Whether you stay a day or a week, our commitment to each guest is the same; we offer a relaxing atmosphere and friendly services that will aid you in experiencing all that Gettysburg has to offer. Details like our home baked continental breakfast basket, packets of freshly ground French roast coffee and spa-quality toiletries will help you greet each day with renewed spirits. Come see why so many call the James Gettys Hotel their home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your James Gettys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Gettys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.