We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great film and interesting town information” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Heritage Center

Gettysburg Heritage Center
297 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly American Civil War Museum)
+1 717-334-6245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 62 things to do in Gettysburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover... The Town, The People, Their Stories. Bordering the Gettysburg National Military Park battlefield, the Heritage Center is an educational and entertaining experience for families and tour groups of all ages. Learn what the Battle of Gettysburg meant to the people who lived here during the war. Utilizing artifacts, historical documents, interactive displays, and 3-D productions, visitors will gain a better understanding of the events that took place in the town before, during and after the battle. Find out how the people reacted to the invasion of the town - freeze, flee or fight? Hear accounts of ordinary people doing extraordinary things in a time when their home was in turmoil.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great film and interesting town information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

The movie shown here is an excellent one for the newcomer to the Gettysburg battle and the other aspects of the museum are equally informative and well done.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely do the iPad tour of the battlefield…you will not regret it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

My friends and I visited Gettysburg and wanted to take a tour of the battlefields without spending too much money. We were able to reserve an iPad from the Gettysburg Heritage Center which gave us a very in depth and interactive auto tour of the battlefields. The tour is self paced and we were able to get through all of the stops within 2 hours but you can rent the iPad for as long as 6 hours. It was amazing and we were able to take a lot more away from our tour through the iPad than if we didn't have it with us. Would highly recommend a visit to this place for not only nice souvenirs (bought some books and clothing) but also for the iPad tour!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark Valley, New York
1 review
“Best Store in Gettyburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

Excellent selection and best staff. Very helpful and knowledgeable. Would make this my first stop when getting to Gettysburg!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Their film is the most concise break down of the battle of Gettysburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Museum displays are well done and some have 3D effects, which is an inventive way to display them. The museum is small and one can quickly go through it. The film is the most concise break down of the battle of Gettysburg. The film will appeal to the novice and experience battlefield aficionados.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valatie, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent - Former Wax Musuem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

I enjoyed this as the wax museum but I must admit I enjoyed the changes they made. They now tell the history of Gettysburg during the battle and after. They provide you with 3 d glasses. Many of the pictures and the short clips are in 3d. They seem to come to life when you put the glasses on. They have comments from people who attended Lincoln's Gettysburg Address. There are a lot of postings to read but they are very informative. Don't miss the movie as you leave the museum. It is on the right on the way to the gift shop. There are no guides. You are on your own and can take you time. They do allow pictures.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Heritage Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.