We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually Well Priced and Fun Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Heritage Center

Gettysburg Heritage Center
297 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325 (Formerly American Civil War Museum)
+1 717-334-6245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 37 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bordering the Gettysburg National Military Park battlefield, the Heritage Center is an educational and entertaining experience for families and tour groups of all ages. Learn what the Battle of Gettysburg meant to the people who lived here during the war. Utilizing artifacts, historical documents, interactive displays, and 3-D productions, visitors will gain a better understanding of the events that took place in the town before, during and after the battle. Find out how the people reacted to the invasion of the town - freeze, flee or fight? Hear accounts of ordinary people doing extraordinary things in a time when their home was in turmoil.
Chesterfield, NJ
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Actually Well Priced and Fun Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have always enjoyed this museum on our visits to Gettysburg. Actually very fairly priced for the value provided and the gift shop and bookstore is one of the best in the Gettysburg area. It might be a bit of a surprise but I think that most folks, especially families with children, will enjoy and benefit from a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Definitely a Must See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This museum is excellent! The ending is the absolute best! It should definitely be on the "to do" list. The day we were here they were letting everyone in for free. I asked why and they said that with the government shutdown happening they had opened their doors for free. Since the park was closed they wanted everyone that came to visit to have an enjoyable trip. They extended the free entrance throughout the weekend even though the government shutdown had ended. I would have definitely paid to see it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Kitchy but neat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Yes, this is an older, creepier version of many wax museums, but very informative. I think this iwould be great for a child's first time look at the Civil War, although some kids as well as many adults (see other reviews) may find the tour boring. If you expect Disney-like animatronics, go to Disney World but expect to pay big bucks. Here for about $6.50, you get a leisurely self-guided tour of the Civil War. The grand finale was a battlefield of wax figures that were periodically lit up during an audio reenactment of the civil war and narrated by an Abe Lincoln lookalike. Hey, I liked it! Don't care if the wax figures were ragged (looks similar to those in some of the witch museums in Salem, MA). I learned a lot about the Civil War just by reading each display. And yes, I did get a bit teary-eyed during the battlefield finale. Afterwards, we bought quite a number of souvenirs from the extensive gift shop. As an afterthought, wonder which came first...the giftshop or the museum which is tucked away in a hall in back of the cash register. Just curious.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanhope, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“was good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

was there with the gf over the weekend and due to the government shutdown (thank you Congress) the museum was free to enter. some of the displays were interesting, the underground railroad being one, but the rest weren't anything that great. you could tell the age of the displays as some of the hands and arms were not in the positions they should have been. the final "battle" scene in the theatre was neat and impressive just with the amount of soldiers and fighting being displayed. the final Abe Lincoln Gettysburg Address video was a huge letdown. the re-enactor was terrible and really did not convey the power and importance of that speech in the slightest. overall, i'm glad it was free as i don't think i would've felt i got my money's worth if charged regular price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftsbury, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“While the Government is Shut Down It's Free”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

While the Government is Shut Down It's Free, and it's about worth the price. I'd forgotten just how awful the place is. Not the sort of wax museum where any trouble was put into making the wax figures look like the person in question. The best wax display is near the start and of the Underground Railroad.

At the end of the wax museum there is a very nice borrowed collection of 50th Battle Anniversary memorabilia that is wonderful.

By the way if you can, ask to be allowed to skip the last part of the show, which is of the battle. Not worth waiting for.

Best thing I can say is they have a great gift shop, and one of the best collections of books for sale that I found anywhere in town. Also a large and clean restroom.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Heritage Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.