We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boring to me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of American Civil War Museum

American Civil War Museum
297 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-6245
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 36 attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The American Civil War Museum presents the entire story of the Civil War and the Battle of Gettysburg. Throughout five hallways of scenes, visitors complete a self-guided tour that covers the causes of the war and ends with President Lincoln's assassination. Following the tour, visitors enter the digitally enhanced Battleroom Auditorium. Amidst the sounds of battle, visitors witness a life-sized recreation of the Battle of Gettysburg, concluding with an animatronics Lincoln delivering the Gettysburg Address.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“boring to me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

was expecting more but was just boring to me. wax figures looked ragged and old. needed to be cleaned up

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    20
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just for fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This place has become a yearly stop for us on our trip to Gettysburg. Yes, it is old and perhaps out dated, but that adds to the charm of it. We were disappointed this year to find the Abe Lincoln robot that comes up from the battlefield at the end was replaced by a video of an elderly man as Abe giving the Gettysburg address! The old creepy hurky jerky Abe Lincoln was the best part of the show! We will probably go back year after year, mainly for the entertainment value. Other people may say its a waste of money... What did you expect for $6.50?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This was Great place to visit don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

our entire family loved This museum, The wax figures was excellant and all looked alive and well, You follow the story as you view each exbit wonderful history lesson and a Great place for the young and old. I buy stuff from the gift shop online during the holidays wonderful Choice

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I'm usually not a fan of wax museums, but this one was interesting, I enjoyed the scenes they had set up and I liked the fact they had benches along the way to sit.They had my favorite Civil war soldier- Robert Gould Shaw! and his 54th Massachusetts Infantry! They ending room was really neat, I'm not going to spoil it for anyone, but definitely check this place out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The wax figures could have been better. The history they gave on the Gettysburg was informative to a limited degree. The price was ok. I feel it was just ok. Nothing horrible and nothing spectacular.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Civil War Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added American Civil War Museum to your Saves list