We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of American Civil War Museum

American Civil War Museum
297 Steinwehr Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-6245
Update attraction details
Ranked #18 of 34 attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The American Civil War Museum presents the entire story of the Civil War and the Battle of Gettysburg. Throughout five hallways of scenes, visitors complete a self-guided tour that covers the causes of the war and ends with President Lincoln's assassination. Following the tour, visitors enter the digitally enhanced Battleroom Auditorium. Amidst the sounds of battle, visitors witness a life-sized recreation of the Battle of Gettysburg, concluding with an animatronics Lincoln delivering the Gettysburg Address.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

First of all loved their gift shop probality one of the best in Gettysburg. The prices are reasonable and cheaper than a lot of the other shops. The wax museum arrived dark and gloomy. Also they weren't very life like. The best part is we didn't have to pay because military get in free. Save your money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    20
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“American Civil War Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

So much I did not know, about the people who fought, brother vs. brother, family vs. family. Also who owned slaves. I learned so much. Changed my perspective,(for the good).
Such American history!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The kids loved the creepy mannequins, very basic history lessons.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My 9 year old absolutely loved this museum. She was captivated by the creepy looking mannequins. As an adult, it gave very basic history lessons and was quite old and dated. It did, however, have a nostalgic charm. I am sure it has not changed much from the 1970's.The gift shop was well-stocked. There is a place in Gettysburg for this type of attraction. It is amazing that in this age of video games, computers etc. that the kids would still find this somewhat hokey place captivating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Glad it was free”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recieved free tickets to the wax museum and I was glad it was free. Just didn't make sense and I am sorry but the statues look really poorly done. Just not a great visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

a visit there is not complete till its seen and heard about I recommend this place to visit and learn more about Americas history

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to American Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Civil War Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added American Civil War Museum to your Saves list