We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disapponting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Farnsworth House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Farnsworth House Inn to your Saves list
Farnsworth House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   401 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Minden, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Disapponting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Let me begin my saying that my husband and I have enjoyed many good meals and fun times at your establishment over the last few years. It was always a highlight of our trips to Gettysburg. However, things have really changed. Saying I was disappointed in our visit on September 4, 2013 is such an understatement. We had built up the evening so much to our six friends who were joining us at Gettysburg this year. The server was great. However, the meals were not. Seven of the eight meals were less than OK, with two being totally inadequate. I felt sorry for Ashley who tried to improve the situation, but really couldn’t fix the meals. I am not sure if there is a problem in the kitchen, or a new owner, or whatever. I feel that you have a fabulous place with loads of character upon which you could really build a great restaurant. It had been great before but I’m not sure that I would ever venture back. Actually when asked by a stranger for a place to eat, one of our friends told them to ‘avoid’ your establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    61
    37
    36
    63
See reviews for
48
118
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jane Lew, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I love this restaurant! Such good food and wonderful staff! Love the feeling of stepping back in time! I also love the Jennie Wade Bread! Yum! We have dined here a couple times and they have never let us down! Definitely recommend when you're in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strongstown
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been eating here for years. We have always loved it...UNTIL the last time. The menu, service and cleanliness have changed. It is now overpriced poor quality food. I'm not sure if someone else has taken over or if the owners have given up, but something has gone wrong here. It used to be period dining with quality food...now it seems to be frozen/precooked/instant food items. I have been very disappointed with many of the restaurants in Gettysburg this summer...maybe it's time to stop visiting for a while. Such a shame that so many of the nice places are turning into dumps :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed in the Jenny Wade room. Dark, dingy, and dirty. The window was right on the patio dining area, so you could not open the drapes. Lots of noise from the dining area and nearby kitchen. TV didn't work, room was not made up by 4pm. If we wouldn't have called the front desk, I doubt it would have been done at all. No control over the heat/ac, alternated between stuffy and freezing. Staff seemed forlorn and unhappy. Food was good, as is the location. Parking is convenient. If you are a ghost hunter (it's supposedly haunted), it might be worth the price. If not, there are much nice B&Bs in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the garden house, all the rooms are next to the tavern and kitchen, and are very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It was my first time staying at a B&B. They were great. They have a cute book store that reminds you of simpler times. That is where you check in at. They also have a fine dinning area, tavern and out door dinning. While on our trip we went on ghost tours. At one point we did theirs. It was wonderful as we were taken inside the B&B where we fell in love with the beauty of the place. We heard tales of haunting so we were able to get a room. What a great night! They also rent Scooters. We were not able to get a scooter but we will be sure to do it next time! All around a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Great food and the outside seating was wonderful. Great time to eat and relax and talk to family and friends. There were eight of us and we all ordered something different and everything was good. We ordered steaks (one was very over cooked, but they fixed another), salmon, turkey, onion soup, and pork loin. The only negative was the service was very slow!!

Good place to relax and tour the house that is full of civil way bullet holes.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Camp
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My son & I decided to stop here for a quick bite to eat while touring Gettysburg. We both ordered a sandwich platter. The panini style sandwich I had was OK. He had the roast beef sandwich. He enjoyed his. I think for the price they could have offered more. We wanted to try some of the local fare on their appetizer listing, but the waitress stated they were not available.

If you enjoy eating outside on a beautiful day, this is the place to go. Be prepared to pay for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#14 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#13 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tillie Pierce House Inn
Tillie Pierce House Inn
#17 of 25 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#6 of 25 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnsworth House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House Inn

Address: 401 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Farnsworth House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth Inn
Farnsworth Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth House Inn Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnsworth House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.