We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farnsworth House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farnsworth House Inn
401 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Fairmont, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This Inn is beautiful. The feeling of staying in a house that not only witnessed but played a significant role in the battle is amazing. I felt so relaxed in the Sarah Black room. The location is wonderful and their veranda is very relaxing. Their drinks rock too!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    48
    30
    34
    54
See reviews for
33
98
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branchville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in the Lincoln Room on 7/20. There was quite a wait to get a cocktail or food. The location is great and close to everything. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff were very friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I never write reviews - BUT MY EXPERIENCE WAS SO AWFUL - I just had to!
We waited over 1.5 hours for food, which when it arrived, was cold and bland. We said we weren't happy and the manager cam out, who then preceded to be rude and aggressive because WE DIDN'T ENJOY THE EXPERIENCE! She should not be running that place. The serving staff I felt sorry for. We were offered nothing as a sorry and expected to pay full price and tip! After a long heated debate, where the rude manager talked down to our table, we received 10% off! NOT GOOD ENOUGH! If she had handled it better and not expected us to pay for such terrible food and service, I wouldn't be writing this!!!

It's such a shame. Our party was made up of three tables and about 16 guests. WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING EVER! There loss!

It's over priced, low quality (claiming to be high), and will surely disappoint.

I cannot advise people enough. Do not eat here!

Room Tip: Don't eat here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we are there for lunch. beautifully preserved property.. good service and atmosphere. reasonable prices. great soup! the a/c could have been better but they were trying to cool a 200 year old building

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is very sad for me to say, but, as a longtime fan of the Farnsworth, they have lost me as a customer. The service is poor, the women who answer the phone are VERY rude, and everything about the Farnsworth House has turned from wonderful and inviting to grungy, dirty, and unappealling.

They have dumbed down their dining room menu to their bar menu (even though their website has their old GOOD menu still on it - Hello! False advertising!) and thought no one would notice. Then, told all the customers who complained that the "150 Gettysburg Anniversary Committee forced them (and all of the restaurants in Gettysburg) to change their menu to get more people in and out faster." When I questioned the other nice restaurants in the area, they had no idea what I was talking about. Oh, and the food was not good.

The owner really needs to reassess what is going on at his establishment. Not everyone cares about ghosts, ghost tours, seances, or haunted houses. Some people come to Gettysburg because they are interested in history.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. The price does not warrant what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed there back in 2002, had a really nice time. The food was great and really enjoyed the history surrounding me. The home does have a lot of "feeling" in it. Please don't go there and expect boxes moving or ghost flying....feel the vibe! Walk the battlefield, go to the main street...have your own ghost tour but do some historical research first.

You know, really interesting place to check out....why not?

Room Tip: Really, try them all? I got what was available, Eisenhower room. I was satisfied. I would love to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

if you visit Gettysburg the Farnesworth House Inn is a must! I was there during the 150th anniversary and even with the crowds of people the wait for lu ch was only a few minutes. The food was, as it always is, excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farnsworth House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House Inn

Address: 401 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth Inn
Farnsworth Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth House Inn Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnsworth House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Farnsworth House Inn to your Saves list