We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE MEMORY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farnsworth House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farnsworth House Inn
Save
You added Farnsworth House Inn to your Saves list
401 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NICE MEMORY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed there back in 2002, had a really nice time. The food was great and really enjoyed the history surrounding me. The home does have a lot of "feeling" in it. Please don't go there and expect boxes moving or ghost flying....feel the vibe! Walk the battlefield, go to the main street...have your own ghost tour but do some historical research first.

You know, really interesting place to check out....why not?

Room Tip: Really, try them all? I got what was available, Eisenhower room. I was satisfied. I would love to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    57
    37
    36
    61
See reviews for
45
111
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

if you visit Gettysburg the Farnesworth House Inn is a must! I was there during the 150th anniversary and even with the crowds of people the wait for lu ch was only a few minutes. The food was, as it always is, excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My brother, niece and I went for dinner. The night before we had dined at the Dobbin House and had a wonderful experience. We were hoping for the same - or better - at Farnsworth but this was not to be.
The green beans were canned and the Chicken Pot Pie had no crust and was a pasty mess of chicken and overdone noodles. Service was brusque and somewhat rushed and rude.
Not worth the time, the calories or the cash. Stay away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were three couples who spent two nights at the Farnsworth Inn. This B&B was picked because one of the couples are into ghosts. I stayed in the Sweeney room, which was a decent room. My only complaint would be that there was no bathroom door (only a curtain) and the bed wasn't very comfortable.

Breakfast was great both mornings, everything is local.

We didn't see or hear any ghosts during our stay. I was hoping for something since this is supposedly one of the most haunted places in the country...I guess that I still am a non believer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

As I'm a fairly frequent traveler to Gettysburg, this is usually the place I stay. It's in a great location, has a delightful history, and the rooms are well worth it.

While some of the rooms are allegedly haunted, I'm usually reading up on the battle while staying there. And even demons are afraid to bother me while I'm reading!

And I love to chat with the bartenders about, for example, "Gettysburg" cast members who occasionally grace the bar which displays some of the costumes they wore in the film.

Finally, the food and the ambiance in the restaurant can't be bet. Enjoy the place, and say hi for me!

Room Tip: Custer's nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at farnsworth in the jenny wade room lovely room. No problems with check in staff was very nice. we had some experiences but not many but we where ok with this. When we first arived we placed tape on the floor and lined up four of my grandson's cars on another spott on the floor we placed tape and stacked coins and left the room for a couple hours. This was for Jeremy the boy that haunts farnsworth . When we ame back for the night my husband saw an orb go up the wall and accross the ceiling, my sister in the night had awoken to a sweet smell and a cold spott on her arm and the hair stood up almost like a cat had licked her. the best thing that happened was not until an hour b4 check out my husband was taking some last minute pictures of the room and picked up the stuffed cat by the fire place as he did this the medal bird cage in the corner went crazy not a little sway back and forth but it rocked like crazy now we alll jumped on the bed amazed at what we just saw. Cant wait to go back next year

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not a Farnsworth House B & B Guest? No problem - The Inn is open tot he public for breakfast and it's terrific! I just spent a week in Gettysburg and while I didn't stay at the Farnsworth - this time - I did have breakfast there every day. As well as lunch in Sweeneys Tavern one day. The Inn is one of the best in Gettysburg the staff go above and beyond and the food is always delicious! I'll be back! - Steve in Nashville

Room Tip: I have stayed in the Sara Black & the Custer rooms in the past and can highly recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farnsworth House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnsworth House Inn

Address: 401 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth Inn
Farnsworth House Inn Gettysburg
Farnsworth Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farnsworth House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.