We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   983 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Little Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

We stayed at the Country Hearth Inn in April. We stayed while attending Gettysburg College events. The inn keeper and his wife were very nice, very accomodating. They work very hard at maintaining the inn. When ever we had a need or a question they were quick to help. Yes the "breakfast" was just coffee and pastries, but it's a small place you don't stay here and expect the "Hampton" . Be real. We stayed on the second floor, the room was immaculate, newly renovated within the last year. The bathroom was large,clean and had enought towels for 4 people. With soap,shampoo and cups. They even fanned out the towls decoratively and folded the tissue. Honestly it's a motel, well kept by nice people. If you don't like motels, don't stay. There are lots of fast food places just up the street, as well as a walmart if you forgot something. Oh yes and they do supply a micorwave, fridge and cable tv. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
16
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

Well, i cannot complain about the motel.
For a motel, it was average, when we got our room, it was very spacious, but the bathroom toilet was dirty, but they cleaned it right away. Staff was very friendly. There are a lot of resturants near by too. Their continental breakfast was more of a "go to the office of the motel and come back with a donught" type breakfast. it was just a counter with donughts and fruits. Overall it wasent bad. there was also a microwave and frige off to the side of the room, which was useful since we brought some soda and juices with us. Buget travelers will most like this hotel. The rooms were pretty big which was good too.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

My family and I stayed here this past weekend. I made the reservation here primarily because of the rates and the amenities that were described on the corporate web site for Country Hearth Inns.

However I was extremely disappointed the amenities described on the site are not what you actually receive at this hotel. If you take a look at the web site, you'll notice they describe having "The Inncredible" breakfast consisting of ceral, muffins, and waffles. Nothing can be further from what was actually offered...a small tray of donuts, a few bananas, coffee, and juice...that's it. Don't expect an eating area similar to what you would find at Hampton Inn, Comfort Inn, Fairfield Inn, etc. The donuts are just set out in tiny office area that doesn't contain any chairs or tables. Free breakfast is a major reason I made a reservation here; needless to say what was offered wasn't the least bit "Inncredible" or sufficient to feed my family and so we went out to eat and lost any cost savings by staying at this hotel.

If you do stay here, I don't recommend staying on the ground floor. We did stay on the ground floor and could hear every footstep of the folks above us. Sound seemed to travel so easily from the room above us that we could easily hear their bathroom door squeaking loudly every time it was opened, which was quite often in the morning.

On the plus side, the room was clean, had a microwave and fridge, and was priced competitively. I however will not be staying here again. The next time I'll stay where a more substantial breakfast is offered (and described accurately), and where the rooms are a bit quieter. One more thing; don't expect fresh baked cookies at check in as described on the web site either.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2005

When we stayed, the inn was brand new. It was amazingly clean and spacious, and the staff was quite friendly. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the refrigerator, microwave and couch made it even more enjoyable. On the outskirts of town, I would highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 983 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gettysburg
Gettysburg Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.