We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   983 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
bear, de
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“budget friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was my first stay at this hotel and it was affordable considering it was the 150th anniversary weekend in gettysburg. the room was a bit small, but clean, it had a nice size refrigerator and microwave, as well as a coffee maker in the room. the bed was ok, but after a day in the field in was better than sleeping on the ground. the continental breakfast could be expanded, but the area is very small and it is more a get and go breakfast. but all in all it was an ok place to stay. it did have wifi, but would use an update on the tv's and cleaner channel guide.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
13
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I like to camp in Gettysburg, but now I have two children who aren't ready for that. I stayed two nights here and the staff was very friendly. I was grateful that it was at a good rate. The only negative was that the beds were a bit too hard for me. There were other families here and they seemed to be kid-friendly which I appreciated, unlike the Super 8 which is twice the price and horrible staff/service. If you want to save some $$ to spend around Gettysburg, stay here if you can handle hard beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomeroy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Since the prices of hotels just keep sky rocketing in Gettysburg, we decided on the econo lodge this year as its a little more budget friendly. The staff there are very friendly and helpful......the whole hotel was surprisingly clean and the grounds were very nice and well kept........having said all that, the bed was the most uncomfortable I'd ever slept in. Woke up every morning with a stiff back, if they'd upgrade their beds I'd probably never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were leaving Gettysburg thinking we'd stay in a cheap motel someplace further out. I decided to check online and found the Econo Lodge in Gettysburg with a room for $67. It only had two stars but we booked anyway. (It's amazing you can find and book a motel in minutes using a smartphone!!) We were pleasantly surprised at the high quality of the room, the king-size bed, the bathroom, the service and even the simple breakfast. Everything is new, clean and well cared for. Breakfast was sweet rolls, bagels and cream cheese and blueberry muffins, plus juice and coffee if you want it - just enough to send us on our way. If we are ever in this area again, we will stay here. There is absolutely nothing negative about this motel. And at $67, it was a steal!

Room Tip: There's a train that runs nearby but I didn't hear it even though we were close to the track...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel should be avoided. We spent 2 nights on a volunteer work weekend at the park. On Saturday morning we left at 7:30 am and returned to clean up at 3 pm. A used towel and the one used soap were gone. The bed was not changed or made.

We left again at 3:45 pm for a ranger talk and when we returned nothing had changed. Sunday morning on leaving we explained our disappointment and the manager was more interested in trying to call the cleaning staff rather than sincerely apologize.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed there as the opening leg of our cross country journey and were quite satisfied. The motel was clean, neat and nicely arranged while the service was efficient and friendly. One thing that pleased us was the rate being exactly what was showing on the internet which we have been finding not to be the case at other places; some very questionable practices out there. Overallocation a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Found hair on the pillowcase when we arrived so couldn't be sure the sheets had been changed. Wallpaper peeling in the bathroom. Carpets frayed and poorly installed. Dirty grout on tiles in bathroom floor. Should have left but there were few rooms available anywhere else. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Gettysburg
Gettysburg Econo Lodge
Address: 983 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.