We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quite The Stir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quite The Stir
500 West Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Very Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hello,
I must say that during our stay in the Gettysburg we came upon this quaint gem. It made me feel so warm and cozy, yet elegant and sheik. I HIGHLY recommend Quite the Stir. I hope that though, when I pass back through,that it's still available. Just couldn't keep a beauty like this hidden. Thank you Quite the Stir for making our trip to Gettysburg highly-memorable.
Sincerely,
Jacqueline S.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Highly recommend this classic B&B! Our stay offered us all the comforts of home and was quite a very nice place to settle down and unwinde after touring the Battlefield. Added plus + was the decor, which was original, fun and truly remiscent of a time not ever forgotten.

Room Tip: Both rooms are really excellent. We selected the rear bedroom. Fact, we had the whole house in add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Celebrated our anniversary at Quite the Stir this year and we already decided we will definitely stay here on all of our anniversaries and any chance we can get to Gettysburg. Really surprised when during our stay, Joelene, the innkeep delivered specialty teas and two matching china cups as gifts! We can't say enough about the guest house right in downtown of Gettysburg. What a fun stay, loved the quaint feeling, the beyond great service, old fashion hospitality with kindness. Top of the line!

Room Tip: We had 2 bedrooms to choose from. Very quiet and ROMANTIC. Luxury queen bed in rear of house with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Quite The Stir in early July 2012 and found the guest house and amenities to be quite amazing. The house is filled with a charm, was immaculate, and we found ourselves more at home during this vacation than any other. Our kids enjoyed a chance to check out the history throughout the entire place. My wife and I enjoyed the comfort and luxury of our bedroom. As far as the linens and the toweling? First class. Having an entire place with a rear yard and free parking right in town was sure a find. The hospitality was the best we've ever experienced, and that says a lot coming from frequent travelers. Quite The Stir is a Gettysburg lodging find!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I planned to visit for the 150 Anniversary in July of next year. In fact, I booked multiple reservations in Gettysburg as we were planning early and knew hotels would book fast. However, I was told Quite the Stir was the best, so I called to confirm my reservation and told it would be no problem. I went ahead and cancelled all of my other reservations in late July 2012.

In August, I received an email from the owner cancelling my reservation for July 2013, telling me she had personal circumstances pop up. There was nothing to do, no help to be given, no suggestions of where to stay. However, I see the B&B's web site doesn't indicate any changes to its reservation policy or indicate that it's not booking rooms. Further, the inn's Facebook page is still promoting the 150th Anniversary, telling people the waiting list is growing and encouraging people to come in July 2013.

I don't understand how the owner has issues that will not enable her to book rooms a whole year from now, but endorses a Facebook page that still calls for reservations and promotes ther 150 Anniversary. I also don't know why there are no updates on the bungalow's web page to indicate these changes. I feel duped as though a higher bidder came along since they are still hosting guests today, still posting updates about renovations, etc.

I just want to warn people to be wary. We're now stuck with no reservations and most places aren't even taking wait lists any more. Again, the owner just cancelled with little explanation (and no acceptable one). Think twice before you book a room here if it is a busy time for tourists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoleneBG, Owner at Quite The Stir, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
With hospitality as our hallmark, it is always our privilege to extend a charming and quality lodging experience to our guests, however we do reserve the right to refuse service and/or accommodations to anyone whose behavior is deceptive, injurious or otherwise harmful.

"Loveliest of all, the magic of this Bungalow shall remain in your heart for all the days of your life..1930s Glamour intermingled with 1940s Homefront Attitude and Style! Hubba, Hubba!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I don't want to give WTS a good review.. b/c then more people will find out about it and then our little secret will be out! This place is seriously AMAZING. In a great location, huge backyard, plenty of parking, and you get the WHOLE place for the same price as a standard hotel room. Jolene was so sweet and accommodating. The beds are SUPER comfy, porches were great, and there are so many little personal touches everywhere. We spent hours just checking everything out... we didn't want to leave! Seriously do yourself a favor and try this place out, I promise you will not regret it... Just don't tell too many people ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This place is simply wonderful. Great location... comfortable beds...lots of neat touches. AND that doesn't even include the incredible experience of being surrounded by times past. The owner is great to work with and made sure we had everything we needed. We will be sure to stay here again if we find our way back to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quite The Stir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quite The Stir

Address: 500 West Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Quite The Stir interactive 1930s/1940s Guest House featuring Bed and Breakfast amenities if you desire! Quite The Stir is located less than four blocks from the center of the Gettysburg downtown historic district, and one block from the Gettysburg Battlefield. All 7 rooms of this guest house are appointed exclusively for our registered guests, plus free on lot parking and a large in-town yard with pergola and furnishings. More perks at Quite The Stir, from fine linens to unparalleled attention to your comfort, Quite The Stir also offers interactive charm, warmth, a place to re-kindle romance, enjoy the dance, a home away from home and nostalgic comfort at an excellent price for this entire lodging. Did we mention Quite The Stir Bungalow serves catered and themed teas by appointment daily? Perhaps you'll find Rosie The Rivetrr or a Fly Girl spinning yarns from yesterday while you sip on teas and devour tea delicacies! Oh, yes...the Bungalow also hosts the 'Iconic One Woman WWII Spy Shows' in the rear yard!' (where vacancies and availabilities allow) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quite The Stir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quite The Stir to your Saves list