We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret jem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quite The Stir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quite The Stir
Save
You added Quite The Stir to your Saves list
500 West Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A secret jem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I don't want to give WTS a good review.. b/c then more people will find out about it and then our little secret will be out! This place is seriously AMAZING. In a great location, huge backyard, plenty of parking, and you get the WHOLE place for the same price as a standard hotel room. Jolene was so sweet and accommodating. The beds are SUPER comfy, porches were great, and there are so many little personal touches everywhere. We spent hours just checking everything out... we didn't want to leave! Seriously do yourself a favor and try this place out, I promise you will not regret it... Just don't tell too many people ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This place is simply wonderful. Great location... comfortable beds...lots of neat touches. AND that doesn't even include the incredible experience of being surrounded by times past. The owner is great to work with and made sure we had everything we needed. We will be sure to stay here again if we find our way back to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our last visit left us dreaming of our next stay at QuiteThe Stir Bungalow. We were not disappointed, during our return visit to Gettysburg last week. Once again we are thinking of our next visit. Jolene and her staff personalized the Bungalow for us from rose petals in the bedroom to Glenn Miller playing the soft sounds of the 40's in the background. Quite The Stir took us back to the simpler times yet so elegant, from the vintage furnished interior to the beautiful grounds. Our time was spent relaxing instead of sightseeing. A wonderful mid-week break for us made possible by Quite The Stir Bungalow.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheswick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Jolene makes you feel so welcome. It's amazing, but when you rent the home, you are the only couple there! It's your own little retreat. She encourages sifting through boxes, trying on the vintage hats and clothing. Very close walking to the square. Beautifully decorated and landscaped!

Room Tip: Two rooms to choose from; both are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed there for a night with my wife while in town for a wedding. We absolutely loved Quite the Stir and were sorry we didn't stay longer. This is really more than a Bed and Breakfast, as you get the entire house to yourself. There are two bedrooms, a study, kitchen, dining room, living room, and two screened in porches. There are also sitting areas in the backyard complete with awnings, umbrellas, and lighting. The house is a fantastic mix of old and new. It is decorated as a 1940's home, complete with rotary phones, and period furniture, decorations, and tableware. Mixed with this are 3 HD tv's, a CD player, and Keurig coffee maker. The beds were quite comfortable and my wife loved the feel of the towels, of all things. The house was stocked with drinks and coffee and tea. When we arrived there were 4 DELICIOUS muffins waiting for us. Jolene is an incredibly friendly and gracious host. She even delivered a delicious continental breakfast of fresh fruit, donuts, and cheese and crackers. We will definitely stay again if we are in town.

Hubba hubba!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

From start to finish this sweet house impressed us more than we imagined any place ever would. Jolene really was an extraordinarily accomodating hostess and her research on history showed here. Quite the Stir stands out as the best, most uniquely and relaxing stay we've ever enjoyed on any trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

For lodging in Gettysburg that provides lavish comfort, exquisite attention to
detail and unparalleled privacy in an ambiance of home-away-from-home comfort,
Quite the Stir bungalow B&B is quite the right choice!

My husband and I stayed at "QTS" from October 28 to Nov. 3rd, 2009. It was seven
days of vacation that was greatly enhanced by our lodging at QTS. Gettysburg is
filled with Civil-War era B&Bs and inns… and that’s exactly what we did not
want. After a day of sightseeing and ghost tours, we wanted to come back to a
home-away-from-home that was a breath of fresh from the stale tourist-trade
traps. QTS provided our desired non-commercialized accommodations and ambiance
right in the heart of Gettysburg’s historic district!

Quite the Stir is truly a hidden gem of a B&B! I advise anyone going to
Gettysburg to check its web site and strike up a conversation (e-mail, too) with
Innkeeper Jolene. Whatever questions or concerns you may have, Jolene is the
go-to person. She sees to it that as a lodger, you are (in every sense of the
word), a welcomed Guest!
I would go back in an instant!

Elizabeth Eagan-Cox, author of the Shannon Delaney cozy paranormal mystery novels.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#1 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.7 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#14 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quite The Stir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quite The Stir

Address: 500 West Middle Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"You'll have your total privacy as our only guests while staying in our restored to era guest house!" Enjoy Quite The Stir interactive 1930s/1940s Guest House, Quite The Stir is located less than four blocks from the center of the Gettysburg downtown historic district, and one block from the North Carolina entrance to the Gettysburg Battlefield. We realize arrival times vary, so we offer our guests the opportunity to check in on their own and make themselves at home! All 7 rooms of this guest house are appointed exclusively for our registered guests. We offer free on lot parking and a large in-town yard with pergola and furnishings. More perks at Quite The Stir, from fine linens to unparalleled attention to your comfort, Quite The Stir also offers interactive charm, warmth, a place to re-kindle romance, enjoy the dance, a home away from home and nostalgic comfort at an excellent price for this entire lodging. We offer a refrigerator stocked with an initial supply of beverages, and snacks as well as, a baked treat awaiting our guests! You'll also find a continental breakfast of yogurts, bagels, cereals, and fruits to munch on while planning your first morning on the town or the battlefield! We may just drop by to leave a surprise treat on the rear porch. Did we mention Quite The Stir Bungalow serves catered and themed teas by appointment daily? Perhaps you'll find Rosie The Riveter or a Fly Girl spinning yarns from yesterday while you sip on teas and devour tea delicacies! Oh, yes...The Bungalow also hosts the 'Iconic One Woman WWII Spy Shows' in the rear yard!' (Where vacancies and availabilities allow) ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quite The Stir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.