We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They offer take away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma

Montezuma
225 Buford Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-7750
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 114 restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
So Plainfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“They offer take away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went here on the advice of locals, plus we had our dog so we needed a place that served take away. We were not disappointed! The chicken enchiladas were delicious, and my husband enjoyed his combination dinner. We also receive to helpings of chips and salsa, a nice surprise. We called our order in, and it was done in 10 minutes. The service was super friendly, and the prices were very reasonable. Since we love Mexican food, we will be back the next visit to Gettysburg!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    72
    37
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Food In Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you enjoy Mexican food you will love this place besides being very affordable, the service is great. It is definitely one of the best restaurants in Gettysburg and should not be missed. We go there when we are in Gettysburg.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre but great service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Food was okay for the price but nothing exceptional. I got the Carnitas and my wife got the fajita quesadilla. Both were a large amount of food but were very ordinary in taste. The service was exceptional and our waiter was very attentive and friendly. Unfortunately it couldn't make up very ordinary food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average Mexican-American”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Restaurant was moderately crowded on a summer weekday just past lunchtime. The service was fast and friendly. Our server brought chips and salsa, then drinks. Our order came about 10 minutes after that. The salsa was pretty weak, almost like ketchup water. Chips had a nice corn taste and were warm. Four of us had a variety of items.

We did order fare typically found at a Mex-American place, and this food reminded us of the old Chi-Chi's chain: Mexican for American folks scared of Mexican food. No spices to speak of and very mediocre tasting. To be fair, there were some more exotic-sounding items on the menu that we didn't try.

Price was reasonable for the amount of food we got. Might consider returning to try some of the more authentic-sounding dishes, but wouldn't order any of the items we already tried.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and quick service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We ate at Montezuma because of the reference from local folks. Their fajita for two were sizzling hot and had great flavor. Couldn't ask for faster service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma also viewed

 

Been to Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.