We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but no margaritas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma

225 Buford Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 121 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Morton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food but no margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the good food in this unassuming, neighborhood Mexican restaurant. The service was great too. It's BYOB, which was a little disappointing, but it seems that's the case in other Mexican restaurants there. No matter - enjoyed it anyway.

Visited June 2013
2 Thank billybobpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent warm chips and salsa, great entrees, and lightning fast service even on a busy evening.

Definitely recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
2 Thank kseabolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Montezuma Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great food, great service, great time! Small, intimate atmosphere. Would go back for sure! You can BYOB as well.

Visited May 2013
3 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Could have been better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Our food was okay...I've definitely had better Mexican food. The cheese on my spinach quesadilla tasted like a slice of white, American cheese...seriously?! I didn't eat most of itbecause of that. The rice? Where's the cumin? Bland. It's a BYOB/BYOW kinda thing and the wine glasses that were brought out to us looked dusty! There was poor lighting and the fire alarm kept going off because of the fajitas! :)

The waitstaff was attentive for the most part...all up until it was time to take our money. He brought us the check, but never came back to collect it! So, my friend and I waited about 10 mins while he talked with another employee while they folded silverware. To be fair, we aren't sure if we were supposed to walk the check up or if someone was to come for it. It wasn't a fast food place, so we thought it might get taken up by our waiter.

It wasn't the worst place I'm sure, but I won't be coming back here... kinda bland for Mexican food and the atmosphere could have been a little more lively.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank MagMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Food like you would get in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but the food is some of the best Mexican I have had in PA, with dishes like you would find in a regular restaurant in Guadalajara, or Mexico City, or some other non-touristy Mexican urban center. I had a shrimp and vegetable dish that was great. My son had pork. The service was incredibly friendly. I wish this restaurant was located in my home town. I would eat there all the time.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank PSU_travel_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma also viewed


Been to Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing