We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but no margaritas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma

Montezuma
225 Buford Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-7750
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 101 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Takeout
Morton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food but no margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the good food in this unassuming, neighborhood Mexican restaurant. The service was great too. It's BYOB, which was a little disappointing, but it seems that's the case in other Mexican restaurants there. No matter - enjoyed it anyway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    20
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent warm chips and salsa, great entrees, and lightning fast service even on a busy evening.

Definitely recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Montezuma Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great food, great service, great time! Small, intimate atmosphere. Would go back for sure! You can BYOB as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Could have been better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Our food was okay...I've definitely had better Mexican food. The cheese on my spinach quesadilla tasted like a slice of white, American cheese...seriously?! I didn't eat most of itbecause of that. The rice? Where's the cumin? Bland. It's a BYOB/BYOW kinda thing and the wine glasses that were brought out to us looked dusty! There was poor lighting and the fire alarm kept going off because of the fajitas! :)

The waitstaff was attentive for the most part...all up until it was time to take our money. He brought us the check, but never came back to collect it! So, my friend and I waited about 10 mins while he talked with another employee while they folded silverware. To be fair, we aren't sure if we were supposed to walk the check up or if someone was to come for it. It wasn't a fast food place, so we thought it might get taken up by our waiter.

It wasn't the worst place I'm sure, but I won't be coming back here... kinda bland for Mexican food and the atmosphere could have been a little more lively.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Food like you would get in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but the food is some of the best Mexican I have had in PA, with dishes like you would find in a regular restaurant in Guadalajara, or Mexico City, or some other non-touristy Mexican urban center. I had a shrimp and vegetable dish that was great. My son had pork. The service was incredibly friendly. I wish this restaurant was located in my home town. I would eat there all the time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma also viewed

 

Been to Montezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.