We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   433 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Springfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We actually stayed here in October 2012 but I just signed up for trip advisor today. We loved our stay here and just loved gettysburg as well. We stayed in a room on the first floor. It had a kitchen and full bathroom and a back entrance to the porch. It was clean and very nicely decorated! The owners were very nice and helpful. I forget her name but she gave us a battlefield cd to use during our stay. You put it in your car and it will take you to all the different parts of the battlefield and describe what happened there.
The inn was in walking distance to everything (restaurants, ghost tours, museums, etc.). We only used our car to do the cd tour and to drive to a horse back riding tour. They have a nice assortment of breakfast items in the kitchen as well. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
54
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Barbara greeted us warmly and showed us to our room on the first floor. Clean and cozy room with a nice bath and our own kitchen. The bed was comfortable and king sized. The room had a back door to the parking area which made it convenient getting to the car.

We met some nice folks staying at the inn and the front porch was a favorite gathering spot for sitting and conversation. The inn is located in the middle of town and easy walking distance to all shops and restaurants.

We really enjoyed our short stay and would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What can we say. Stayed 6/10 to 6/13/2013. A great place to stay and within walking distance to everything. Clean and quiet rooms. Great front porch to watch the world go by. Barbara and Steve will help you with your plans if you need any. No formal breakfast but a nice 24 hour snack room. They also did a fantastic matte and frame job for a tin plate photo we had done. Ready the next day. No question, we would stay again!

Room Tip: Book early for the first floor Beautiful Dreamer. Has its own kitchenette and back door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt Pleasant
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've stayed here twice so far and each time was pleasant. Very helpful and friendly owners, good selection for breakfast and within walking distance to everything down town. It's great for me because I am in and out all day. The rooms are very clean and each has it's own charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast is owned by Barbara and Steve Shultz and you couldn't ask for a better couple. They are great people and we had a great time staying at their bed and breakfast. We wanted a weekend away together and we chose this place to stay. It's clean, quiet and if you need something done they are right there to take care of it. They have a 24-hour kitchen that is open at all times with snacks, breakfast, drinks for all. I would highly recommend this place. And if you are interested in Civil War you have the best of both worlds. A great bed and breakfast and a battlefield to learn history from.

Room Tip: We had the room called the String of Pearls, it was a corner room and if you are looking for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in this B & B in 2012, and enjoyed it so much we returned in 2013! There are lots of choices of places to stay in Gettysburg and we wouldn't choose anyplace else. We stayed in the Beautiful Dreamer suite. It's on the first floor, has a private entrance, a kitchenette and a large bathtub/shower in the private bathroom. Once again, it was spotlessly clean and so very comfortable. The owner was there to greet us with a warm welcome. She was ready with information and maps, as well. And there is plenty of information available in the common area, too. The room itself couldn't have been nicer! The common area has lots of interesting memorabilia to look at. as well as brochures, restaurant menus, anything you may need. Parking is private of street parking right behind the building - very convenient (and I noticed it was much closer to the entrance then many of the hotel parking lots in Gettysburg). It is an easy walk to the center of town. Very conveniently located. We particularly enjoyed the 24-hour breakfast room. Something for every taste. So easy and convenient. The front porch is just made for sitting in the evening, watching the world go by (or the ghost tours), and meeting the others staying in the B&B as well. It is easy to see the owners of this B&B take much pride in their establishment. This place is great, down to the last detail. (And there are so many details to discover here!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This B&B offers beautiful, affordable rooms with a nostalgic theme and feel. Stayed in the Victorian themed " Beautiful Dreamer" room which was very clean and spacious. The breakfast/snack room was filled with a variety of different items to accomodate anyone's palate such as cereal, oatmeal, muffins, pastries, fruit, yogurt, milk, juice, and coffee. This room was open and available at any time. The B&B is located right on the main strip of Gettysburg so pretty much everything was in walking distance. The owners were extremely nice and welcoming. Look forward to staying here again in the near future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Address: 433 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy nostalgic hotel with all comforts in Gettysburg's historic district in the shade of the huge sycamore tree that witnessed the battle of Gettysburg and the delivery of the Gettysburg Address. Walk to everything and on the local bus line. Low rates plus discounts for week nights, multiple nights and off season specials. Queen beds, private baths, cable TV, free Wifi, A/C, free private parking, 24 hour breakfast room. Theme rooms decorated Victorian to Deco era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.