We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Get-Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   433 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Comfortable Get-Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Charmingly decorated and cozy. Quiet room - never heard our neighbors. Continental breakfast - kitchen was open 24 hours a day and well stocked with nuritious breakfast foods as well as loads of yummy danish and snacks. Never had to move our vehicle. Easy walk to downtown, shops and restaurants.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    14
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
60
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We love A Sentimental Journey Bed & Breakfast! We go every year (it's been about 5 or 6 so far!) and always have such a relaxing time. Steve and Barb are wonderful hosts - it's nice to be "regulars" with such friendly folks waiting for us! Absolutely recommended for anyone who loves the nostalgic era of the 30s and 40s! The "Beautiful Dreamer" room is absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was our first stay with the B&B, and we found it to be friendly, cozy and very homey. The Charleston/Moonlight Serenade Suite was perfect for our party of 4. The rooms were nice size and the beds were comfortable. It was very clean and the 24/7 kitchen had a terrific selection of breakfast items and snacks, as well as coffees and teas and other drinks as well. Free wifi was a plus and it's location can't be beat. You are within walking distance to tons of shops, museums and restaurants. This will be our new "go-to" place to stay when we visit Gettysburg again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

my husband and cousin and his wife took a trip to gettsburg Pa alst fall. we stayed at A Sentimental Journey bed and breakfast. it is very nice and cozy. very clean and fun. we had a great time and We fell anyone who tries it will too.

Room Tip: we used the family suite and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I was traveling with Mom and wanted to stay in a cute and cozy place. This was a very clean B&B, had well appointed rooms, and we could walk everywhere as it was close to the main street. There was a kitchen that everybody could make his/her own breakfast at, and it was convenient, but I am spoiled, and like my food hot in the morning if I stay at a B&B. I liked it overall, and it was good for our 1 night only at Gettysburg, but it is hard to say if it was a memorable stay for me. Again, many people probably do not look for that in a stay, and this B&B would be excellent for most people, but I like each B&B to make my stay somewhat extra special (totally picky, I know!)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I adore "A Sentimental Journey." I discovered it about three years ago and have stayed in four of the rooms. Every room is dedicated to its own unique era with thoughful decorative touches throughout.

I love the kitchen and wish it were my own! You step back in time when you stay here...it truly is a gem within the heart of downtown Gettysburg. Everything is in walking distance, including the infamous cemetery, battlefields, town square and all the restaurants, shops, ghost tours...

I have stayed here a few times for my own getaway, but have brought friends and family here too, all of whom just loved it and wish to come back. The Shultz family (owners) are very respectful of their guests' privacy and I found it to be a very quiet and relaxing stay every time.
I am looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Be sure to look at the website - there are 360 degree views of each room. I loved the one with its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My fiance and I had a wonderful Halloween stay at A Sentimental Journey. The suite was cozy and ultra-romantic. We may just book another stay for our Halloween Honeymoon in 2012!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast

Address: 433 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy nostalgic hotel with all comforts in Gettysburg's historic district in the shade of the huge sycamore tree that witnessed the battle of Gettysburg and the delivery of the Gettysburg Address. Walk to everything and on the local bus line. Low rates plus discounts for week nights, multiple nights and off season specials. Queen beds, private baths, cable TV, free Wifi, A/C, free private parking, 24 hour breakfast room. Theme rooms decorated Victorian to Deco era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Sentimental Journey Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.