We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Age of Ike and Mamie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eisenhower National Historic Site

Eisenhower National Historic Site
250 Eisenhower Farm Lane, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717 338 9114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 36 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: President Eisenhower used this farm as a retreat from the White House, then retired here.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Age of Ike and Mamie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the home and outbuildings on this beautiful farm at the edge of Gettysburg. You need to get a bus ticket at the Visitor's Center, but that allowed the foundation to keep the site as is. After touring the home, I took a stroll to the show barn. There is an audio tour available, so with a cell phone you are able to stop at the various buildings and hear something about them. They are still raising black angus steers on the farm to this day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    88
    29
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I Like Ike, and Mamie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was worth every bit of the $7.50 admission and bus ride out to the farm. If you don't care about history, or one of our greatest presidents or his life at the farm with Mamie, don't go. I learned so much that I went home and continued to find out more about Ike, Mamie and the farm. The tour of the house is remarkable. Basically, it's a time capsule of the 50s and 60s. You pretty much have access to every room in the house. This site has a bus that comes by every hour on the half-hour, so stay as long as you like. There is a 1/4 mile walk to the largest barn so pick a nice day. If you travel to Gettysburg, this site is not to be missed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“We Like Mamie's Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

After service as Supreme Allied Commander, General Eisenhower chose to buy a farm right next to one of the greatest civil war battlefields. The rebuilt a very simple farm house where they would host various world leaders and it served as a presidential retreat and his retirement home. You can tell that this was really Mamie's place because the only place that looks like it would suit a general is the den (the 1950s version of a man cave). Everything in the place was the way it was when she died, so its a blast from the past. The visitor's center there needs an upgrade and a better movie, but the guide's do a great job. His home office is incredibly small, but make sure you check out the contents on its walls. Its still a working farm and the setting is really beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was an excellent tour. The person giving the tour was very knowledgeable. It was nice to see how "normal" they lived and hear all about their life. They had a lot of interesting little facts about the Eisenhower's. It was fun to see all the rooms and how they were decorated. If you have time, this is a great tour!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummels Wharf, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Took our son and daughter in law”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I have been to the Eisenhower National Historic Site several time but on this visit we brought our son and daughter in law. This was our daughter in laws first time and she had a wonderful time. She said that it was very informative.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eisenhower National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Eisenhower National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eisenhower National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.