We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eisenhower National Historic Site

Eisenhower National Historic Site
250 Eisenhower Farm Lane, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717 338 9114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 30 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: President Eisenhower used this farm as a retreat from the White House, then retired here.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've taken this tour several times and enjoy it every single time. I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Gettysburg

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    100
    34
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's the Presidents House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Anytime you can visit a president's house I recommend it. Great tour and worth the trip! It contains several personal belongings to Eisenhower and his family. Very cool!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
193 attraction reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
1,126 helpful votes 1,126 helpful votes
“ANOTHER 'MUST SEE' IN GETTYSBURG”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A visit to the Eisenhower National Historic Site begins with buying a shuttle/tour ticket for a specific time at the Gettysburg National Military Park's Visitor Center. Visitors are driven there by shuttle bus. Visitors cannot drive there on their own. There is no place to park.
On arrival, a ranger meets the tour bus and begins the orientation. Then, for the house tour, the group is split in two due to space constraints inside the house.
Due to Ike’s career with the U.S. Army and then as President of the United States, The Eisenhowers never had a home to call their own until Ike’s retirement. They decided on this farm in a picturesque setting.
Most of the furnishings originally belonged to The Eisenhowers. One striking thing about the home is that Mamie Eisenhower had exceptional taste in interior decorating. Another is Ike’s paintings. The story is that, after commissioning a painting of Mamie, Ike watched the artist and became fascinated with the process. He then took up painting on his own. His work shows that he had considerable natural talent.
After the ranger-led tour of the living room, visitors are allowed to browse the rooms off the hallways upstairs and downstairs. Visitors are met again on the way out.
Then, after the house tour, visitors are allowed to roam the grounds and the barns of this working farm.
At the bookstore/visitor center, one can watch a brief video. There is also a National Parks Passport Cancellation Station there.
Our tour was in conjunction with a visit to Gettysburg National Military Park on July 3rd, the 150th Anniversary of the end of the Battle of Gettysburg. It was a welcome side trip to break away from the crowd of thousands awaiting reenactment of the battle in the afternoon.
We enjoyed out visit here. It was a nice counterbalance to the somber atmosphere at Gettysburg National Military Park, site of the largest and bloodiest battle ever fought on North American soil.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The interns were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been to Gettysburg multiple times and this is the first time visiting the Eisenhower ranch. It was worth the time and modest cost. The prerecorded tour narration on the air-conditioned bus while traveling from the visitor's center was excellent. The best part was the intern guided tour programs. I attended the general orientation that provided abundant information about the president and first lady during the 50s and the house and property. The secret service program was also outstanding. They allow you to wander around the home and property, which is extensive, at your leisure. Everything is preserved from the 50s (look through the garage window to see the golf cart and presidential limousine). There is a program about the president showing continually in the gift shop/mini museum/visitor center. We even got an added bonus tour narration by the bus driver on the way back to the Gettysburg visitor's center about the battlefield.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Eisenhower National Historic Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We added this stop to our Gettysburg exhibit last week. We enjoyed our visit very much! The house contains the many gifts that were given to the Eisenhower family by world leaders and friends. It is still a working farm which is neat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eisenhower National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Eisenhower National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eisenhower National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.